Grandma's Homemade Italian Sauce and Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2001
I just made the meatballs. We really liked them and will make them again. Next time I will try the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
My family loved these meatballs. They have a wonderful flavor. They will most definitely become a family favorite!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
I thought this was a very easy and tasty recipe and will make again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This recipe was good, but not the perfect meatballs I have been searching a LONG time for.(I'm pretty picky about my meatballs ;) Actually, I think that all they need is a little more garlic. I must say that they did taste their best the next day and then the next day after that, as most do. I will be trying them again with just a wee bit of modification to "Jess-ize" them. Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
I got this recipe for just the meatballs and they were horrible! Way too many breadcrumbs and they tasted like mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I will definitely make this again. It took a while to make but I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I'm not a huge meatball lover but I made these for my husband and he enjoyed them. I made a lot and froze them and they tasted good whenever I used them. I really liked the parmesan flavor. I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
I made the meatballs only. Although I didn't care for the original recipe, my second batch was fabulous with a few modifications. ***I only used 3/4c. bread crumbs. I used 1/2# sweet Italian pork sausage rather than ground pork and veal. And I used an Italian Herb blend rather than just dried parsley.*** I did simmer them in jarred sauce. Both the meatballs and sauce improved each other! YUM, YUm, Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Made meatballs only. Followed suggestion from previous reviews and used only 3/4 cup bread crumbs and italian spice blend instead of just parsley. Meatballs were easy to make and were very yummy on their own (loved the romano cheese in them). Were also great a few days later with a spaghetti sauce smothered over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
EXCELLENT!!!! Just like my grandma Palaia's recipe. She never used meatballs so that was an added bonus. Very good. I've never had bottled sauce in my life, but I imagine it's bad. Nothing is like homemade sauce that has been simmering for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMELLA1010

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States