Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I followed this recipe to the letter adding only chopped walnuts. It was wonderful. Not too dry, not too moist - like Goldilocks' porridge - "just right". I made 2 loaves at once - one in a pyrex glass loaf pan and the other was a teflon coated pan. The glass pan did a much better job. Would recommend a glass loaf pan over a teflon one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brawley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I have been experimenting with different banana bread recipes on this site. This so far is my favorite. I made this using 5 small bananas and the flavor was excellent. My nieces and nephews devoured this in no time at all. I did add 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. I will share this recipe with my friends. Give this one a try - you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIGNON1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Thanks for the great recipe!!! This bread is fantastic -- and very forgiving for a "wide margins" kind of cook. I tossed all incredients together, eyeballing, used four bananas, because I had them on hand, and used sour cream, mixed it all up with a large salad fork (new home is very spare - all equipment in boxes). I had to add on about 30 minutes extra baking time (I suspect because of the extra banana) before my knife came out clean (lowered to 300 degrees after an hour), but in the end it was delicious. Next time I think I may throw in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. ............. P.S. I used the Splenda/Sugar Baking Sweetener, rather than pure, real sugar, and my unwitting boyfriend was none the wiser. ............. P.P.S. If you make extra, you can slice the cooled banana bread and pack in individual sandwich bags, then put all in a large freezer bag and you'll have snack-ready portions for whenever you want them. Take one out of the sandwich bag, pop on a plate in the microwave for 1 minute on medium power. It thaws and heats back up to almost as good as right out of the oven. Thank you for the wonderful, classic recipe! I made it for the first time last week, and again tonight! Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Outstandingly moist, with a tender crumb. The flavor is superb, as well. This is the recipe I reach for again and again, a true classic. Adding a few dashes of cinnamon helps to complement the banana taste. This bread freezes perfectly for up to 3 months, if wrapped in foil, then placed in a zip-lock freezer bag. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
Awesome recipe!!! Works well with two bananas as well as three. Compliments and requests for this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
very nice, moist bread. i had to bake it for 1 hr 40 min until the center was set, which put a thick crust on the bread. still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
The bread was really good but there was so much batter, I could have made two loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I have a convection oven and this bread cooked in about 45 minutes. very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Very good. I added Cinnamon and Nutmeg cause I love spice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Superb! I even cut down on the butter a little and it still turned out great. The people at my husband's work said it was the best banana bread they ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States