Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
It turned out great, used sour cream instead of sour milk, added walnuts. Only had 2 bananas so I used half a cup of crushed pinapple instead. I used only 1 cup of sugar also.(Don't like all that sugar)Made 12 muffins and a loaf of bread Perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Covington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
excellent..I ran out of sugar but had Coconut Sugar on hand and it turned out great..increased the amount of bananas to 3-1/2, also added tsp. baking powder..my son in law loved loved loved it..thanks for the delish recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This was absolutely perfect! It took a little less time because I split it into two loaves. This was really good. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixoflife137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Love, love, love this recipe!! I didn't have any sour milk so i added vinager to my milk and it turned out just fine. I also added cinnamon to the mix. Love this. I will be making this for years to come. Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This bread was perfect. I did add chopped walnuts to it but I have a feeling it would have been fantastic without them. Even my extremely hard to please family member liked it! Neither too dry nor too moist, I toasted mine in my little toaster oven and topped it with a tablespoon of Nutella for a quick and tasty breakfast treat. YUM!!!! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah.Hawk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidrick, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This recipe is absolutely delicious. So very tasty!!! It's in my recipe box for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
my family loves this recipe, has the perfect amount of banana. We add chocolate chips just for a twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This is the BEST banana bread EVER!! Moist and tender on the inside and a yummy crunch crust-- and so easy to make! Thanks for the recipe -- it will be passed on down in our family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Delicious! I added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half teaspoon of ginger and nutmeg, and omitted the vanilla. Great, dense texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made quite a few banana bread recipes, and this one was excellent. Loved the texture--springy, not too dense or heavy. I doubled the recipe since I had so many bananas--came out great. I added chocolate chips and chopped nuts. Even tho I decreased sugar (1 cup instead of 1 1/2 cups), it was still too sweet--probably due to the addition of chocolate chips. I will decrease further next time. My changes--substituted half the butter with applesauce to decrease fat (and it still tasted moist). Used some whole wheat flour in place of the white flour (1 cup WW and 3 cups white for a double batch). For double batch, 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar. Used egg beaters instead of eggs. Added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. Added chopped nuts and chocolate chips. The only change I'd make is to decrease the sugar even more than I did...a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 239) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States