Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is the best banana bread I've ever tasted. Sorry I had to change something, I used Brown sugar instead of white the second time. It was perfect love this recipe! Can't add a photo as we ate all of it LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
After losing my own recipe I used for years in a housefire, I tried this one and it was really good. I did not have any sour cream in the house so I used oil, also added chocolate chips and a tablespoon of cinnamon (my old recipe called for it) and it was really tasty. rises nicely, nice texture...also made muffins (cooked for 25 minutes) and they turned out nice. I have made this twice since and had equal success. This will be my go to recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
The only change I made was to add a cup of chopped walnuts. I don't think I've ever had better banana bread. It was so moist and flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Average recipe, 3 star's for the original, still found it rather dry. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, only added 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of sour cream; and an extra banana. This makes a heavier loaf, with less rise but is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I love, love, love this recipes. I do use 3 bananas and mashe them up. I add 1C chopped walnuts and add 1 teaspoon Cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. DELICIOUS. I bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Thank so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This bread is fantastic. I used regular 2% milk based on what I had and it was still great. I have made it about 5 times now while living in the Dominican Republic. Everyone loves it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
HI i have spent all day looking for the right banana recipe, there was one on here a few years ago, that after you baked them you left it in a pan and put it in the freezer for about 2 hours. But i cant seem to find it. so i'm going to give this a try. but i'm going to make them into muffins. will let you know if they are what im looking for! Doreen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doreen Krieger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Its delicious with a cup of coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I wanted to make two loaves at a time. So I doubled everything in the recipe, except the bananas and sugar. I only used 4 bananas total, and used a half cup less sugar. The bread turned out quite yummy! I took most of one loaf to work and it was quickly gobbled up. Everyone loved it. This was my first attempt at making banana bread and I was very happy with the results:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a delicious recipe. I dont like bananas, but love this bread. Great in the morning with coffee. my five year old eats it as cake with a smile on her face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States