Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
i've tried many recipes until i came across this one and this is by far my family favorite...no more searching for that perfect homestyle banana bread for me :D Followed the recipe to a T only adding 1 cup pecans (uncut) then cut myself and everyone just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is definitely not for ONE 8 x 4 pan. The batter that spilled over onto the bottom of the oven and the unevenly baked, still raw 8 x 4 loaf sitting on my stove are proof of that. Please correct this recipe. It is for TWO 8 x 4 pans or ONE 9 x 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I made this recipe and it was too sweet. I am making the bread again and I have reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup. I had a request to add chocolate chips so I added 1 cup to the batter. Instead of a regular loaf I made 3 little loafs (5.75 x 3) to give to friends. Cooking time is 50 mins or a dry toothpick when inserted in center of loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eat Write Love
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I made this for my family and everyone said it was the "best banana bread ever!" It's moist and sweet and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Awesome Recipe!!!! Thanks so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Yum. Used nonfat milk instead of sour milk and came out great. This is my new go-to banana bread recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Hands down the best banana bread I've ever had. I always add an extra banana because I love that real banana-y taste. I've used buttermilk and made my own sour milk. Both taste equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I made this a few day ago and it was so good not spreading the word would just be wrong! I will never use another recipe for banana bread again. Another reviewer stated that after bread cooled she sliced it down then put each slice in a baggie the all of the bagged slices into a freezer bag, well that was genius! Next time will double recipe for two loaves so we'll have one or now and one for later. Totally recommend this recipe. Oh, the only thing I changed was that I used heavy cream instead of sour milk (cause i didnt have milk)and subbed brown sugar for 1/2 of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
It was a good way to use up overripe bananas and sour milk. However, I prefer my banana bread more dense and less sweet. I really love sweet, so it is really unusual for me to say that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great bread, though I had to cook mine 20 minutes longer when I agged walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States