Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This is the best recipe I have found for Banana Bread. I have had nothing but compliments on it - even from my Mom, whom I still call for cooking advice. I usually double the recipe and it comes out great every time. I usually get 3 loaves out of this recipe though, after I double it - more for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
made small bite sized muffins with this recipe. i doubled it and got over 80 muffins. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
You need a bigger pan. I used the 8x4 and it spilled all over my stove and the edges burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
The second time I made it I followed the directions exactly. It was moist and tasted great. (I did have to bake it 20 minutes longer to finish. Maybe I'll bake it in two loaf pans next time to see if that helps.) But overall, it was fantastic. The first time, I used 1/2 brown sugar and added mini chocolate chips - very good but didn't want to rated a "modified version."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I adjusted this recipe a bit. Used Splenda Sugar instead of reg. sugar. and used applesauce instead of butter. I also added cinnamon, vanilla, & walnuts. I also made into muffins instead of loaf, as they are more convenient to take for lunches here. I baked same temp but only about 20-22 min. & made 2 doz. Wonderful flavor, lil heavy, but everyone loves them !! Thanx for sharing. This is an easy recipe, and seems very easy to adjust, it's a great recipe that I can't wait to try again and again. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flin Flon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Made this for my husband and he loved it. Used a little less sugar and baking powder instead of soda. Had to add 30 minutes to baking time and came out wonderful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Have made this recipe with and without nuts...it is great either way. The bread comes out nice and moist, and the flavor is incredible. I will not be using any other banana bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Delicious, moist good ol fashioned banana bread. Added Chocolate chips for the picky ones, and it is now a family favorite. Will try with walnuts next time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamaralynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
i've tried many recipes until i came across this one and this is by far my family favorite...no more searching for that perfect homestyle banana bread for me :D Followed the recipe to a T only adding 1 cup pecans (uncut) then cut myself and everyone just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe is definitely not for ONE 8 x 4 pan. The batter that spilled over onto the bottom of the oven and the unevenly baked, still raw 8 x 4 loaf sitting on my stove are proof of that. Please correct this recipe. It is for TWO 8 x 4 pans or ONE 9 x 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States