Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very good but made an awful lot. Made two loaves instead of one. Too much for my family. Had to freeze some of it. Added nuts and sprinkled the top with cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoyJem

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Great simple recipe. I didn't have sour milk so I substituted with normal milk and I used 1 cup of sugar rather than 1.5 cup, and it was still delicious. Very moist inside, nice crust outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very good basic bread. Did not have milk so I dolloped in sour cream, used a mix of brown sugar and white. Don't tell Grandma but I also splashed in 1/4 cup Spiced Rum by Captain Morgan. Wanted to bake the bread fast so used a muffin tin and baked for 20 min at 375 Degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I absolutely love it and so does my family. Would love to make it as a muffin though also,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Anne Totten Keeney
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I love this recipe. I also add chocolate chips , a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg and it gives it a good flavor. The chocolate chips help keep the bread moist. I also use mini loaf pans. I butter them and then add sugar coating. Comes out crispy sweet on the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
It was delicious! I literally just threw everything in a bowl and mixed it. I did not have sour milk so I just used whole milk and it worked great. I also did not have a bread pan so I made it in my stoneware square pan and it baked well and for the same time. The only thing different I will do next time is add chopped walnuts or pecans!!! Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Sirildo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I think this is a terrific basic banana bread recipe. I made a couple of modifications based on necessity. I realized while making this that I was all out of milk. I put in 1/3 cup of eggnog instead and a handful of chocolate chips. Because of this added sweetness, I cut the amount of sugar in half. The bread came out beautifully, with a thick and chewy crust and a moist center. I have a fast oven so I timed it for 50 minutes. However, it needed the whole hour before the knife came out clean. Next time I will make sure I have all my ducks in a row and try it without the modifications. I expect similar and good tasting results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!! Very moist on the inside with a nice bake around the outside! Best recipe for banana bread I've used by far
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Brewer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I used Pyrex dish and it turned out really moist. I used Almond extract instead of vanilla (by accident) and it added that nutty taste which was good since I didn't have any walnuts. I used a teaspoon of cinnamon too. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordan Rivers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I love this banana bread. However, I did make one change. I put 1/3 c. sour cream instead of sour milk. And I added walnuts to mine. It is a big hit with my fiance'. I also had to cook it for about 20-25 minutes longer than stated. Yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally Freeze

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States