Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I've made quite a few banana bread recipes, and this one was excellent. Loved the texture--springy, not too dense or heavy. I doubled the recipe since I had so many bananas--came out great. I added chocolate chips and chopped nuts. Even tho I decreased sugar (1 cup instead of 1 1/2 cups), it was still too sweet--probably due to the addition of chocolate chips. I will decrease further next time. My changes--substituted half the butter with applesauce to decrease fat (and it still tasted moist). Used some whole wheat flour in place of the white flour (1 cup WW and 3 cups white for a double batch). For double batch, 1 cup white sugar & 1 cup brown sugar. Used egg beaters instead of eggs. Added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. Added chopped nuts and chocolate chips. The only change I'd make is to decrease the sugar even more than I did...a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I recomend this for every one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
it's really moist and really amazingly yummy. i had to make them into muffins because i dont have a bread pan. i cooked them for 17-19 minutes. on the second batch i floured the cupcake pan too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairabella10

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Every time I make this my fiance loves it! I add a tiny bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to make it a little more "homey". This is a great recipe! You really can't mess it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
All I can say is, YUMMY! This recipe was very simple. I didn't have sour milk so I used sour cream instead. I added a few dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to taste. I also mixed the dry ingredients separate and added them last. Will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
The bread was good for sure however very sweet. Maybe a tad too sweet and I had to increase the baking time by 30 minutes. Next time I will try cutting the white sugar in half and substituting in with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
5 stars! I made this bread this morning and it is the best banana bread I have ever made!!! Thank you for sharing. It is a keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was DELICIOUS! I made 2 batches last night, my family devoured it this morning! I used 3.5 bananas and heavy cream instead of sour milk, but it came out PERFECT! Im sticking to this recipe for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavvyMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
It was delicious. I had enough batter for 2 small pans. I threw in a half cup of pecans and it was superb. I also cut back on the sugar just a bit, since my bananas were overripe and sweeter than normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread was delicious! I was so happy that it made two loaves so I could share one with my parents. Next time, I'll bake it for less time, as the outside was a little more crusty/hard than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlcollier

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States