Grandma's Homemade Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Used pecans (personal pref) was very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Couldn't find recipe usually use so went looking for similar and settled on this because of the addition of the sour milk. Made the minor adjustment of using 1/2 butter and 1/2 veg. oil ( or 1/4 c ea.) and used sour cream instead of sour milk, since didn't have the latter. Always add nuts and blueberries cause hubby is disappointed without them. It was superb. Have a new recipe and sticking to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foggy31m
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I tried this and sprinkled cinnamon and Splenda on the top. It was fantastic. made it into muffins at only half the baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
love these, turns out fantastic every time! our Grandkids love making it with me! First thing i do is mash bananas and add to the sour milk, seems to bring out the flavor in them for a stronger banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Love love this recipe!! I have never gone wrong with this. Changed a few things but very minor but it is amazing. Use regular milk, add a dash of cinnamon, and used three bananas instead of two. Always perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Delicious! I made a few changes after looking at the reviews. I put in 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and it was still pretty sweet so I would maybe even only put in 1/2 cup of sugar total. I used regular milk instead of sour milk because that just sounded gross to me! And then I always add cinnamon to my banana bread. Then, I spooned the mix into a muffin tin and baked at 350 for 22 min and came out with 16 delicious banana bread muffins! Overall it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This is the best banana bread I've ever tasted. Sorry I had to change something, I used Brown sugar instead of white the second time. It was perfect love this recipe! Can't add a photo as we ate all of it LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Othello, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
After losing my own recipe I used for years in a housefire, I tried this one and it was really good. I did not have any sour cream in the house so I used oil, also added chocolate chips and a tablespoon of cinnamon (my old recipe called for it) and it was really tasty. rises nicely, nice texture...also made muffins (cooked for 25 minutes) and they turned out nice. I have made this twice since and had equal success. This will be my go to recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmjae2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
The only change I made was to add a cup of chopped walnuts. I don't think I've ever had better banana bread. It was so moist and flavorful. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Average recipe, 3 star's for the original, still found it rather dry. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, only added 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of sour cream; and an extra banana. This makes a heavier loaf, with less rise but is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States