Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
Flavor was a bit bland, I will make again using additional butter and seasonings. My biggest complaint is the quantity of potatoes. Even using my largest cast iron skillet there was just too much shredded potatoes to get a crispy hash brown. After 20 min I tried flipping but it just wasn't working. So I just broke it all up and flipped it around with my spatula until I got some reasonably crispy hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
It was a long process in the making. I suggest not boiling the potatoes, and add a lot more oil while cooking.My potatoes started sticking to the pan layer by layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I love hash towns but could never get them like you do in a diner or Coney Island-- mine were always mushy/gooey. NOT ANYMORE! The magic of putting these in the drive overnight, or 6 hours in the day like I did, makes these just as good as your local diner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Yes indeed,this is how to make hash browns!! I boil the potatoes in the skin, leave the potatoes a bit firm. refrigerate, peel before grating, use oil instead of butter, cook over medium heat, season well with S&P. Do not be in a hurry to turn them, wait until they are brown and crisp about 10-15 minutes, you can flip them all in one piece. Cook the other side until barely brown Just about enough time to make eggs & toast. Patience makes the best hash browns! I have gotten rave reviews on hash browns, done this way...since 1977! Thanks for posting the real deal, Denyse!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great simple recipe. For years I was making gray soggy hash browns. But these are restaurant good. Make sure you cover the potatoes when you refrigerate or they can turn gray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
found this recipe on pinterest last night thank goodness i did cause i was able to cook the potatoes and put them in the frig. shredded them this morning and cooked it for my husbands breakfast which he really liked except i put to much salt in them (oops). They where hard to flip but i think if i made smaller batches it would have been easier. Thanks alot for the recipe i have never been able to make hashbrowns before but now i have something to work with and master.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great hash browns! I ate them with some ketchup. Very crispy, perfect for a quick meal. I'm storing the potato shavings in the freezer for the next times I will make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These were delicious and easy! I never thought to try boiling the potatoes and then putting them in the fridge overnight before, but the potatoes cooked easier because they weren't completely raw when I put them in the pan. I didn't have any butter on me, so I just used vegetable oil, which worked fine. I added sea salt, pepper, and minced onion, and they tasted phenomenal. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I did not have good luck with these. The only thing I changed was I used bacon drippings in place of the butter. They were not great. Honestly, th potatoes that I sued could have been part of the problem. They were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Faster, easier and awesome - minutes to do - is peel and cut potatoes into microwaveable bowl, add about 1/4 cup butter pats, about 2 - 3 chopped green onion, sprinkle with pepper, paprika, garlic plus, seasoned salt, celery seed and/or any seasonings you personally like, stir, cover and microwave for about 10 minutes covered with plastic wrap while you do other things. When done stir and you and your family will LOVE LOVE LOVE it with eggs and bacon, sausages, ham or whatever. I even use this for dinner and add carrots, pieces of celery and whatever other veggies I like. Too easy, fast and sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States