Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These were great - made them for Christmas morning and invited our neighbors over. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were very good and easy to make. I will be cooking the potatoes the night before from now on. I used my salad shooter to shred them so it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Perfect. I used Crisco and a little bit of onion powder (not salt) along with salt and pepper. I used a cast iron griddle and didn't mind if the outcome was a wedge, a circle or a bit loose on the plate. First batch was without covering with lid. Second batch toward the end I covered the hash browns with a glass lid and splashed a bit of water onto the griddle to create a bit of steam under the lid for just under a minute . These came out a bit creamier on the inside without losing the crispy outside. Either way excellent texture and flavor. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I can't imagine any better approach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Did not refrigerate potatoes, put them in the freezer for 15 minutes, it worked okay, but still a little mushy and I don't doubt that refrigerating them is the key. You can add anything you want for your personal touch: garlic, onion, red/green pepper, chili powder, paprika, cumin, curry... you can also use oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I am so happy to know the secret behind great hashbrowns. This is the best way to get non gummy hashbrowns. I served these on Christmas morning and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southport, Florida, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great tasting hashbrowns. I overcooked the potato (scaled the recipe to 1 serving, just for myself), but it still turned out tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
How easy. Thanks didn't know it was as easy as cooking night before. Mine never came out right and gave up until now. My son now wants these before school and as long as potatoes are cooked it's easy to do on a school morning. Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was the best recipe for hash browns I've ever tried. Preparing the potatoes the nite before -- makes for a quick breakfast the next morning. This is a "restaurant quality" recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome recipe. Simple and good. I just added seasoning salt and onion powder. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very good. Reminded me of the ones that you get at the pancake house. For a crisper hash brown, try working with smaller batches of shredded potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States