Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love a good steak every week to 10 days and with that I love a baked potato. Since hash browns are heavenly, I always add several 'extra' bakers to my oven. Put the extra in the refrigerator at least over night, maybe several days, I peel the skins and cut the spuds into med size (I1/2 inch) chunks. I always cook several slabs of bacon in the pan while preparing the hash browns. Saute some onion and green pepper in the bacon oil, a little butter and mix in the potatoes. Turn as they become brown and for an extra kick, serve with some good salsa. Sounds so good I going to the kitchen and cook some up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walt Wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I, too, add onions; green onions in my case. I heard of a very simple way to "flip" the hash browns: simply turn them out on a plate then place the skillet over the top - uncooked - side of the hash browns and turn them onto the skillet. Much the easiest way for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Another option if you know you want to have potatoes in the morning is to microwave them the night before and toss into the fridge, peel and all. We like the more cubed, rather than shredded, hash browns, so it's simple to pull them out of the fridge, cut into small cubes with the skin on, and toss them into the oil. Skin adds a nice change in the texture as they crisp up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I didn't refrigerate them overnight, I just put the potatoes in ice water then grated. I also added oil to the butter and they tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This is a perfect simple recipe for hash browns. I think these are right on par with the ones you get at restaurants. Be careful not to overcook the potatoes, they are nearly impossible to shred if they are too tender. I also just stuck them in the freezer for 30 min, instead of overnight and they were great! I didn't have much luck getting them to stick together, but I plan on making these again and again. I think next time I will try cooking these in the oven to make them extra crispy! (will update after I try) UPDATE: Just tried baking these tonight...and HUGE success! I greased a baking sheet, mixed about 1T flour in with the potatoes, and shaped them into round patties. They cooked on 435 for 30 min (check for browness on bottom), then another 15 after flipping. They were crispy and delicious! Will bake these again and again--made our breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. BliSs
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
They were so good. I don't think we will ever buy frozen hash browns again. For the first batch, I gave the potatoes an ice water bath. I also didn't boil them for 20 minutes. I only boiled them for about 10-15 minutes instead. This way, they were easier to grate with the grater and they didn't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. BliSs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I have been looking for a hashbrown recipe for a few months now and this one hit home! It was amazing. Followed the recipe exactly. They came out crunchy and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Used 6 Potatoes And 2 Teaspoons Of Salt. Next Time Will Shred, Season And Shape Potatoes, Then Fry In Batches With 2 Tablespoons Of Butter At A Time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I had a large leftover baked potato from the day before, I peeled and shredded it then followed these cooking instructions, GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
FINALLY, I found a recipe for hash browns that lets me emulate my fave local breakfast burrito.... these are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States