Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe is a blast from the past for me....I used to work in a restaurant, and the foil wrapped potatoes from the night before would be used to make hash browns for the next morning. I know realize why they were so good. The refrigeration after cooking is key. I even made my own hash brown dish on the buffet on Sundays with onions and bell peppers, they loved it. I have some russest in the refrigerator right now, and will report how they were in my update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really easy and very tasty, perfect combination :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I microwave my potatoes, peel them after if you wish, or leave the skins. Slice or shred as desired. Fry in a pan with olive oil. The potatoes turn out crisp, not soggy and soaked with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the recipe you've been looking for! No need to change a thing but you can. I cooked in a little bacon grease and added diced onion that burned a little so I'll have to work on that part. It is the cook then cool over night that makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used to fail miserably at hash browns till I found this method. If I have not planned ahead and precooked the night before I will chop and steam then fry right away. Can also sub evoo and add onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just great hash browns. Finally, I can make them at home as good as any diner. Of course I play with it and make my own changes to taste and what I'm in the mood for but I just wanted to elaborate on the reviewer who mentioned why this works and referencing Shirley Corriher. First, it's actually the starch that crystallizes. If anyone knows anything about resistant starches, some of them are created by cooking starchy foods and letting them cool. They help block the digestion of carbs for several hours. So in essence, this cooking method is healthier for you. I won't comment on the actually overall nutritional benefits or values since I'm not a nutritionist but if I'm going to make hash browns and they're going to be as good or better than any diner, and "healthier," I'm making them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love a good steak every week to 10 days and with that I love a baked potato. Since hash browns are heavenly, I always add several 'extra' bakers to my oven. Put the extra in the refrigerator at least over night, maybe several days, I peel the skins and cut the spuds into med size (I1/2 inch) chunks. I always cook several slabs of bacon in the pan while preparing the hash browns. Saute some onion and green pepper in the bacon oil, a little butter and mix in the potatoes. Turn as they become brown and for an extra kick, serve with some good salsa. Sounds so good I going to the kitchen and cook some up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walt Wayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I, too, add onions; green onions in my case. I heard of a very simple way to "flip" the hash browns: simply turn them out on a plate then place the skillet over the top - uncooked - side of the hash browns and turn them onto the skillet. Much the easiest way for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Another option if you know you want to have potatoes in the morning is to microwave them the night before and toss into the fridge, peel and all. We like the more cubed, rather than shredded, hash browns, so it's simple to pull them out of the fridge, cut into small cubes with the skin on, and toss them into the oil. Skin adds a nice change in the texture as they crisp up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I didn't refrigerate them overnight, I just put the potatoes in ice water then grated. I also added oil to the butter and they tasted perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States