Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Faster, easier and awesome - minutes to do - is peel and cut potatoes into microwaveable bowl, add about 1/4 cup butter pats, about 2 - 3 chopped green onion, sprinkle with pepper, paprika, garlic plus, seasoned salt, celery seed and/or any seasonings you personally like, stir, cover and microwave for about 10 minutes covered with plastic wrap while you do other things. When done stir and you and your family will LOVE LOVE LOVE it with eggs and bacon, sausages, ham or whatever. I even use this for dinner and add carrots, pieces of celery and whatever other veggies I like. Too easy, fast and sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My grandma cooked them like his also, but like another gal used bacon grease. And she diced up a big ol sweet onion in the skillet w/ the bacon grease and bacon leavin' sauteed till onion was transparent. Then shredded the potatoes into the (iron) skillet with salt and lots of black pepper, flipping the taters till crispy brown all over. Nowadays I micro-bake my taters. and wow i love the taste that way! and you can do it all in one morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good. Still, came out a little mushy. Maybe use Russets, not reds, and a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Loved these! Just like at the restaurants, the kids devoured theirs and wanted more. Will definately be making these instead of buying the frozen ones. Thanks for the fantastic recipe Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious! Mine were crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. The secret really is to boil them, then let them chill *overnight*. It made all the difference. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabet
Living In: Osnabrück, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My daughter faught with me over these. If you like IHOP hashbrowns these came out very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I learned to make them like this working in a restraunt in the early 70s have been doing it like this ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Has anyone tried using raw grated potatoes? TO DIE FOR :-) Peel,shred, squeeze the water out and fry as above. Crispy on the outside,gooey on the inside. We split them open and butter the insides. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I had high hopes for these based on the reviews but I must have done something wrong. First of all, the shredded potatoes did not stick together when we cooked them - they were very hard to flip and serve as they kinda fell apart. Secondly, the taste was quite bland (which could be easily fixed by adding more seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I never knew there was a trick to hash browns. Mine always turned out sticky and gray, never knew you should boil them the night before! Thanks to this recipe, I have perfect hash browns every time and always have a few potatoes already made in the fridge so they're ready whenever and whatever portion I want. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States