Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Great hash browns! I ate them with some ketchup. Very crispy, perfect for a quick meal. I'm storing the potato shavings in the freezer for the next times I will make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
These were delicious and easy! I never thought to try boiling the potatoes and then putting them in the fridge overnight before, but the potatoes cooked easier because they weren't completely raw when I put them in the pan. I didn't have any butter on me, so I just used vegetable oil, which worked fine. I added sea salt, pepper, and minced onion, and they tasted phenomenal. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I did not have good luck with these. The only thing I changed was I used bacon drippings in place of the butter. They were not great. Honestly, th potatoes that I sued could have been part of the problem. They were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Faster, easier and awesome - minutes to do - is peel and cut potatoes into microwaveable bowl, add about 1/4 cup butter pats, about 2 - 3 chopped green onion, sprinkle with pepper, paprika, garlic plus, seasoned salt, celery seed and/or any seasonings you personally like, stir, cover and microwave for about 10 minutes covered with plastic wrap while you do other things. When done stir and you and your family will LOVE LOVE LOVE it with eggs and bacon, sausages, ham or whatever. I even use this for dinner and add carrots, pieces of celery and whatever other veggies I like. Too easy, fast and sooo yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
My grandma cooked them like his also, but like another gal used bacon grease. And she diced up a big ol sweet onion in the skillet w/ the bacon grease and bacon leavin' sauteed till onion was transparent. Then shredded the potatoes into the (iron) skillet with salt and lots of black pepper, flipping the taters till crispy brown all over. Nowadays I micro-bake my taters. and wow i love the taste that way! and you can do it all in one morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie McDowell Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Very good. Still, came out a little mushy. Maybe use Russets, not reds, and a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Loved these! Just like at the restaurants, the kids devoured theirs and wanted more. Will definately be making these instead of buying the frozen ones. Thanks for the fantastic recipe Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. T. Davis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Killeen, Texas, USA
Living In: Libby, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Delicious! Mine were crispy on the outside, tender on the inside. The secret really is to boil them, then let them chill *overnight*. It made all the difference. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabet
Living In: Osnabrück, Niedersachsen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
My daughter faught with me over these. If you like IHOP hashbrowns these came out very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I learned to make them like this working in a restraunt in the early 70s have been doing it like this ever since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Wayne, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States