Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
At last, the trick to hash browns that are crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. A great basic recipe that you can alter in any way--the timing on boiling the potatoes was just about right. The only thing is you don't have to cool overnight (though it's probably easier); I stuck them in the fridge for just a couple hours and they were firm enough to shred. I followed everyone's advice and added a bit of oil to my butter. I didn't even need to add salt or pepper; they were perfect with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIMMETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
This is a great recipe! I have been looking for a simple, traditional hash brown recipe! Mine have always turned out soggy and bland- no matter what seasonings I add. I tried this recipe and my breakfast dilemma-days are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Amazing, great flavor, easy and oldfashion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Very good, Simple and easy to make. This is a good traditional recipe. I don't know why people would complain about hash browns not being flavorful enough? That is what salt and ketchup was invented for! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Sooo simple! These have the exact taste that "simply potatoes" do, with out using oil. The kids ate them all up! Thanks Denyse & your grandma too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have tried many ways of cooking hash browns. Pre-cooking (instead of rinsing, drying etc.) and letting chill overnight made a great difference. An important thing is not to overcook. You want them to be tender but not falling apart; to shred better. I don't think it is neccesary to add oil, if you brown/crisp LONG ENOUGH before turning. I start out on medium-high heat then turn heat down to med, as soon as they start to brown. Then cook for about *20* minutes on ONE side, THEN TURN. I also like to "cut" (with the spatula) into serving size pieces prior to turning. I sometimes use another buttered pan to finish the other side (more room to turn). FYI; If you "press" down the potatoes at first, and brown/crisp for a long time, cut into serving sizes, they freeze well for reheating in the toaster later. Thank you, Denyse, for sharing. I prefer feeding my family *homemade* to oily, store bought with added preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I feel so cool now that I'm in the 'I-know-how-to-make-homemade-hashbrowns-that-aren't-slimey-and/or-grey' club. So, this is the secret: parboiling and refrigeration. These were perfect; I'll never buy store-bought hashbrowns again. Thanks Denyse's Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were great! I boiled the potatoes a couple of hours before I needed them (didn't have time to do the night before) and let them sit in a pan of cold water to cool them. Still worked great! I also added green onions into the frying pan once the potatoes were almost done. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
WOW!!!! These are amazing! No need for ketchup or toppings. I used house seasoning instead of just salt and pepper. I make these all the time now. It's totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Excellent recipe that turned out great hash browns! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States