Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Yum! I boiled the Russet potatoes as directed, then put them in an ice water bath for 5 minutes. I only fried them for about 5 minutes per side on medium to medium-high heat (6/10). They were dark-golden crispy on the outside with just the right amount of softness on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The key to this is the same to good mashed potatoes - the refridgeration. Shirley Corriher in Cookwise explains why this works. The glutens that make potatoes gooey and sticky, crystalize when chilled and once crystalized - they stay that way which makes for non-gooey hash browns and light fluffy mashers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
384 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have tried many ways of cooking hash browns. Pre-cooking (instead of rinsing, drying etc.) and letting chill overnight made a great difference. An important thing is not to overcook. You want them to be tender but not falling apart; to shred better. I don't think it is neccesary to add oil, if you brown/crisp LONG ENOUGH before turning. I start out on medium-high heat then turn heat down to med, as soon as they start to brown. Then cook for about *20* minutes on ONE side, THEN TURN. I also like to "cut" (with the spatula) into serving size pieces prior to turning. I sometimes use another buttered pan to finish the other side (more room to turn). FYI; If you "press" down the potatoes at first, and brown/crisp for a long time, cut into serving sizes, they freeze well for reheating in the toaster later. Thank you, Denyse, for sharing. I prefer feeding my family *homemade* to oily, store bought with added preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
A great hash brown recipe! This is is how I cook mine "Southern style." I cook my hash browns in bacon grease, not butter. This gives extra flavor and makes them less likely to burn. And I use only cast iron cookware. That makes them cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
Very simple, delicious recipe. I would also recommend adding a bit of oil to the butter to keep it from burning. Also, when it came time to flip the hash browns, I placed a large plate over the frying pan, turned the pan upside down, and then slid the hash browns back into the pan. Worked great and it came out in one, lovely, crispy, brown piece. While it's hard not to peek, keeping the hash browns on the first side for at least 15-20 does make a huge difference in the amount of crispiness you will achieve. Super recipe! Thanks, Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensenly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I've never made hash browns from scratch, so when I found this recipe, I knew I just had to try it. These tasted exactly, if not better than what we enjoy at our favorite diners here in Jersey. Denyse, your grandma certainly knew what she was doing because this was genius. Who would have thought to boil and refrigerate? Because I decided on this side just hours before dinner, I speeded up the process by placing the potatoes in the freezer until they were good and chilled. I did add sauteed chopped onion to this and some garlic and onion powders. I'll never, ever go back to the frozen stuff again!! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Excellent traditional way to cook Hash Browns. Want to make them more than a breakfast dish? Cook them and use them for a bed for a nice cajun filet of fish or any cut of fish. These are great and there is NO REASON they should be enjoyed only for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dughr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I like to add onions to my hash browns. Saute a handful of chopped onion in a teaspoon of oil while grating the potato. Adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Very good, Simple and easy to make. This is a good traditional recipe. I don't know why people would complain about hash browns not being flavorful enough? That is what salt and ketchup was invented for! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Sooo simple! These have the exact taste that "simply potatoes" do, with out using oil. The kids ate them all up! Thanks Denyse & your grandma too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States