Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
I only used 5 potatoes and added some oil in the beginning...very good, just like my Grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2001
This is a great recipe! I have been looking for a simple, traditional hash brown recipe! Mine have always turned out soggy and bland- no matter what seasonings I add. I tried this recipe and my breakfast dilemma-days are over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MicheleMary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Amazing, great flavor, easy and oldfashion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Simple is right. Simply bland. I thought they had no flavor. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Very good, Simple and easy to make. This is a good traditional recipe. I don't know why people would complain about hash browns not being flavorful enough? That is what salt and ketchup was invented for! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Sooo simple! These have the exact taste that "simply potatoes" do, with out using oil. The kids ate them all up! Thanks Denyse & your grandma too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This worked well for breakfast. I confess, I did still fry these in a few TBLS of heated veg oil, but then, halfway through cooking, I melted the butter the recipe requires and poured it over the hashbrowns right before flipping them. Turned out nice, crispy brown and they had plenty of taste. Went well with our quiche! Thanks Denyse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
These are great. I always add a little oil to keep the butter from burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
I have tried many ways of cooking hash browns. Pre-cooking (instead of rinsing, drying etc.) and letting chill overnight made a great difference. An important thing is not to overcook. You want them to be tender but not falling apart; to shred better. I don't think it is neccesary to add oil, if you brown/crisp LONG ENOUGH before turning. I start out on medium-high heat then turn heat down to med, as soon as they start to brown. Then cook for about *20* minutes on ONE side, THEN TURN. I also like to "cut" (with the spatula) into serving size pieces prior to turning. I sometimes use another buttered pan to finish the other side (more room to turn). FYI; If you "press" down the potatoes at first, and brown/crisp for a long time, cut into serving sizes, they freeze well for reheating in the toaster later. Thank you, Denyse, for sharing. I prefer feeding my family *homemade* to oily, store bought with added preservatives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
My grandmother used to make these when I was little. I always enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States