Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
mmm, after eating these fresh hashbrowns, i rarely go back to the frozen kind. i esp like to add 1/2 tsp tumeric, 1/2 tsp coriander, and 1/4 tsp cayenne to sauteed onions and garlic, and then add the grated potatoes. it is scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
What a great recipe! It's nice to finally know the trick to great hash browns, boiling and refrigerating. We added chopped onions, pepper, and bacon. There were no leftovers! Thanks for sharing this fantastic recipe, which will surely be a family favorite for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
simple and delicious. Next time I may try making these on my small George Foreman grill. Anyone try that yet?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Great way to make hash browns- I never knew the secret was boiling the potatoes beforehand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Exactly what hash browns are supposed to taste like. Other recipes may be fun to experiment with, but when you want a sure-fire winner, use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Nothing spectacular, they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
A great hash brown recipe! This is is how I cook mine "Southern style." I cook my hash browns in bacon grease, not butter. This gives extra flavor and makes them less likely to burn. And I use only cast iron cookware. That makes them cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Great! My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I just made these for brunch. Everyone loved them. They truly are just like hash browns at a restaurant. I cooked 8 russet potatoes from the "perfect potato" bag. They are the kind that are supposed to be the perfect size. I think that worked well because they cooked really evenly. I forgot to cook them the night before, so I cooked them and then put them in cold water to cool them off. Then peeled and grated. It worked very well. This does make a lot of hash browns. It made 2 batches in a very large pan. I didn't have any problems with the butter. They didn't burn. I used a large platter to turn the hash browns over. Works like a charm. Finally a secret to great hash browns instead of a gluey gray mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i'll give this one a 4 because even though i was pretty disappointed with the result my husband LOVED them. my first mistake was to use my food processor to shred the potatoes. instead of shredding they came out pretty mushy. next time i'll do it with the little hand held one. my second mistake was cooking them in a pan. cooking them for 20 minutes on medium heat on the first side was a little too long (although i have a gas range it's sometimes hard to tell the temp) and they were pretty dark. my problem is always the flipping. i can't ever get them to flip nicely it always turns into a big heap of goo. next time i think i will try to make them on the griddle that might be easier. i added a shredded onion and the flavor was awesome. everyone loved them even though they looked kinda icky. i'll give it another whirl and see if i can get it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States