Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Exactly what hash browns are supposed to taste like. Other recipes may be fun to experiment with, but when you want a sure-fire winner, use this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Nothing spectacular, they were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
A great hash brown recipe! This is is how I cook mine "Southern style." I cook my hash browns in bacon grease, not butter. This gives extra flavor and makes them less likely to burn. And I use only cast iron cookware. That makes them cook evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
Great! My family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey Park, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I just made these for brunch. Everyone loved them. They truly are just like hash browns at a restaurant. I cooked 8 russet potatoes from the "perfect potato" bag. They are the kind that are supposed to be the perfect size. I think that worked well because they cooked really evenly. I forgot to cook them the night before, so I cooked them and then put them in cold water to cool them off. Then peeled and grated. It worked very well. This does make a lot of hash browns. It made 2 batches in a very large pan. I didn't have any problems with the butter. They didn't burn. I used a large platter to turn the hash browns over. Works like a charm. Finally a secret to great hash browns instead of a gluey gray mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
i'll give this one a 4 because even though i was pretty disappointed with the result my husband LOVED them. my first mistake was to use my food processor to shred the potatoes. instead of shredding they came out pretty mushy. next time i'll do it with the little hand held one. my second mistake was cooking them in a pan. cooking them for 20 minutes on medium heat on the first side was a little too long (although i have a gas range it's sometimes hard to tell the temp) and they were pretty dark. my problem is always the flipping. i can't ever get them to flip nicely it always turns into a big heap of goo. next time i think i will try to make them on the griddle that might be easier. i added a shredded onion and the flavor was awesome. everyone loved them even though they looked kinda icky. i'll give it another whirl and see if i can get it right next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I have loved hash browns since childhood, but have struggled to make decent ones. This recipe is almost foolproof and makes excellent hash browns, very easy with just the right combination of soft and crispy. The first time I followed the recipe as written and they turned out very well, but I couldn’t resist fiddling with it a little. A couple slices of bacon add a nice flavor and the oil keeps the butter from burning. Crumble the bacon into the shredded potatoes and add some diced green onion. These little changes yield hash browns worth getting up early on Saturday for. I tried yukon gold potatoes, but the Russets have a better texture. Thank you Denyse for taking the mystery out of a classic breakfast favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
My hashbrowns shall never be gummy and yucky again! Awesome recipe, the potatoes came out light on the inside and had a nice crunch on the outside. I added some diced onions to the potato. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Used leftover potatoes for this one. Added some frozen diced onions as well for a little bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Yum! I boiled the Russet potatoes as directed, then put them in an ice water bath for 5 minutes. I only fried them for about 5 minutes per side on medium to medium-high heat (6/10). They were dark-golden crispy on the outside with just the right amount of softness on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
430 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States