Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I was looking for a hash brown recipe that I would not have to deep fry in oil. I used this one, but did add my own touch, however. I mixed the chilled grated potato in a little flour and some chopped chives in a bowl, then pressed one serving's worth of the potato mixture into a 4-inch ring mold. Removed the ring, and repeated with the remaining mixture. Fried on the griddle (at about 400 F) until golden brown on both side, about 5 min. each side. Serve with breakfast sausages, bacon, or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was a great recipe,but does take some time. I will do it again for a special weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Yum, yum, yum! Like others, I did not have time to let it sit overnight, so after letting them sit for a couple hours, I shredded them and put them in a shallow pan in the freezer and then cooked them. I only put 4 potatoes in the pan and used a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawbabies

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I took a hint from your recipe to replicate these delicious "German potatoes" that I had at a local German restaurant. Instead of russets, I used new red potatoes, and instead of shredding them, I sliced them. Turned out GREAT! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laylah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
The key to this is the same to good mashed potatoes - the refridgeration. Shirley Corriher in Cookwise explains why this works. The glutens that make potatoes gooey and sticky, crystalize when chilled and once crystalized - they stay that way which makes for non-gooey hash browns and light fluffy mashers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Added salt and pepper to the potatoes before frying but they still weren't 'great' only 'ok' for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Thank you for this recipe! It's GREAT! I'm not the best cook, & don't have many things up my sleeve for breakfast, as our breakfasts growing up were mostly frozen waffles & cold cereal. My husband & I have decided to have breakfast every morning together now that we have our first child, & we'll surely be serving these hash browns A LOT! We don't mind prepping them the PM b4 at all - in fact, it helps us in the morning. Our only tip is if you're short on time, dice the potatoes b4 boiling them, & then just throw them in the pan in AM instead of spending time shredding them; we also add some cayenne and parsley while frying the potatoes. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I've never made hash browns from scratch, so when I found this recipe, I knew I just had to try it. These tasted exactly, if not better than what we enjoy at our favorite diners here in Jersey. Denyse, your grandma certainly knew what she was doing because this was genius. Who would have thought to boil and refrigerate? Because I decided on this side just hours before dinner, I speeded up the process by placing the potatoes in the freezer until they were good and chilled. I did add sauteed chopped onion to this and some garlic and onion powders. I'll never, ever go back to the frozen stuff again!! Thank you so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I'll be the first to admit that I was TERRIBLE at hash browns, but not anymore. These were easy and tasty and just what someone like me needs to do hash browns right. I am so glad I found this recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonkawa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These were so easy! I added a little garlic powder and onion powder with the salt and pepper, and they were awesome. My husband wants these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa in london

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ruislip, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States