Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good! Now I know the secret to making homemade hashbrowns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I've had hash browns as a breakfast side in nice restaurants and of course the famous "McHash Browns" but they were boring and forgetable. I finally got around to seasoning an old cast iron skillet and wanted to give homemade a go. After searching on AR for recipies, I decided on this one. I liked the idea of cooking the potatoes the night before and thought it would improve the texture. As long as the potatoes are not overcooked they shred nice and evenly. This step doesn't take long and can be done as the butter melts. I seasoned the shredded potaotes before putting them in the pan so the salt and pepper was evenly distributed. I had cooked 4 slices of bacon, set them aside and added 2Tbsp unsalted butter to the bacon grease. After adding the potatoes to this pan I very slightly patted them down. Cooked on medium heat for 15 minutes without peeking (that was hard), then flipped them over using a small flat pizza pan then back into the skillet and cooked the other side for another 15 minutes. They just about all stayed together - I think if I had tried using a spatula to turn, the disk of potatoes would have broken. Not that they wouldn't have tasted ok if this did happen but I wanted to have them looking nice on the plate. These form a lovely brown and crispy crust and a perfectly soft inside. They were just how I wanted. I have made these using only butter. The bacon grease/butter was noticeably better. I have used the called for russet potatoes and I have used ordinary wh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I was in a rush and decided not to refrigerate the potatoes over night. HUGE mistake. I must make a big difference. I waited maybe 40 minutes before using. They were cool but not cold. The potatoes were gummy and did not brown... well it was a mess! At that point I only used one potato. Not wanting to waste the potatoes, what I did was diced the rest of the potatoes and tossed them with a little oil and put them away in the fridge in a covered container. A day and in a half later, I pre-heated a cast iron pan on about med heat. I added Sunflower oil to the pan and NOT butter. Tossed the potatoes in the pan and left them alone. After they browned I added (diced small) vidalia onion, frozen bell pepper, and Salt and Pepper. Really, really good. I will try the shredded version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nightowlnibbler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Great recipe. The boil time on my gas stove was a few minutes too long and the potatoes were a little too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
These turned out great. I forgot to boil the potatoes the night before, so I put them in the freezer for 1.5 hrs, and they came out fine. I used Yukon gold because that's what I had, and I sauteed some shallots before adding the potatoes. Great recipe for a perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
These are great. The best hash browns I've ever made at home and A LOT cheaper then buying frozen hash brown. One note, 8 potatos make A LOT of hash brown. This is the only recipe I'll use to make hash brown, nor will I buy store bought ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I loved the fact that I could prep this overnight. In the morning, all I did was shred it in my food processer and I was good to go. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrssjlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I was looking for a hash brown recipe that I would not have to deep fry in oil. I used this one, but did add my own touch, however. I mixed the chilled grated potato in a little flour and some chopped chives in a bowl, then pressed one serving's worth of the potato mixture into a 4-inch ring mold. Removed the ring, and repeated with the remaining mixture. Fried on the griddle (at about 400 F) until golden brown on both side, about 5 min. each side. Serve with breakfast sausages, bacon, or ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was a great recipe,but does take some time. I will do it again for a special weekend breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Yum, yum, yum! Like others, I did not have time to let it sit overnight, so after letting them sit for a couple hours, I shredded them and put them in a shallow pan in the freezer and then cooked them. I only put 4 potatoes in the pan and used a little more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lawbabies

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States