Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was the best recipe for hash browns I've ever tried. Preparing the potatoes the nite before -- makes for a quick breakfast the next morning. This is a "restaurant quality" recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Awesome recipe. Simple and good. I just added seasoning salt and onion powder. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very good. Reminded me of the ones that you get at the pancake house. For a crisper hash brown, try working with smaller batches of shredded potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good! Now I know the secret to making homemade hashbrowns...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I've had hash browns as a breakfast side in nice restaurants and of course the famous "McHash Browns" but they were boring and forgetable. I finally got around to seasoning an old cast iron skillet and wanted to give homemade a go. After searching on AR for recipies, I decided on this one. I liked the idea of cooking the potatoes the night before and thought it would improve the texture. As long as the potatoes are not overcooked they shred nice and evenly. This step doesn't take long and can be done as the butter melts. I seasoned the shredded potaotes before putting them in the pan so the salt and pepper was evenly distributed. I had cooked 4 slices of bacon, set them aside and added 2Tbsp unsalted butter to the bacon grease. After adding the potatoes to this pan I very slightly patted them down. Cooked on medium heat for 15 minutes without peeking (that was hard), then flipped them over using a small flat pizza pan then back into the skillet and cooked the other side for another 15 minutes. They just about all stayed together - I think if I had tried using a spatula to turn, the disk of potatoes would have broken. Not that they wouldn't have tasted ok if this did happen but I wanted to have them looking nice on the plate. These form a lovely brown and crispy crust and a perfectly soft inside. They were just how I wanted. I have made these using only butter. The bacon grease/butter was noticeably better. I have used the called for russet potatoes and I have used ordinary wh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I was in a rush and decided not to refrigerate the potatoes over night. HUGE mistake. I must make a big difference. I waited maybe 40 minutes before using. They were cool but not cold. The potatoes were gummy and did not brown... well it was a mess! At that point I only used one potato. Not wanting to waste the potatoes, what I did was diced the rest of the potatoes and tossed them with a little oil and put them away in the fridge in a covered container. A day and in a half later, I pre-heated a cast iron pan on about med heat. I added Sunflower oil to the pan and NOT butter. Tossed the potatoes in the pan and left them alone. After they browned I added (diced small) vidalia onion, frozen bell pepper, and Salt and Pepper. Really, really good. I will try the shredded version again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nightowlnibbler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Great recipe. The boil time on my gas stove was a few minutes too long and the potatoes were a little too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
These turned out great. I forgot to boil the potatoes the night before, so I put them in the freezer for 1.5 hrs, and they came out fine. I used Yukon gold because that's what I had, and I sauteed some shallots before adding the potatoes. Great recipe for a perfect texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
These are great. The best hash browns I've ever made at home and A LOT cheaper then buying frozen hash brown. One note, 8 potatos make A LOT of hash brown. This is the only recipe I'll use to make hash brown, nor will I buy store bought ever again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I loved the fact that I could prep this overnight. In the morning, all I did was shred it in my food processer and I was good to go. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrssjlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States