Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes the best hash browns ever, rivaling restaurant quality. But it's very important not to overcook the potatoes. I make a huge batch and keep leftover shredded potatoes in the freezer, so they're ready whenever we want them. I like to leave the skins on. It is dangerous for me to have this recipe, because now I want to make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I steamed the potatoes then followed the recipe. The results were outstanding! Definitely on my breakfast menu from now on. Next time I might add some onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very easy. Never thought to refrigerate potatoes but from what I've read, refrigerating the potatoes after boiling/steaming makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Don't overcook the potatoes, which I did the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This recipe is a blast from the past for me....I used to work in a restaurant, and the foil wrapped potatoes from the night before would be used to make hash browns for the next morning. I know realize why they were so good. The refrigeration after cooking is key. I even made my own hash brown dish on the buffet on Sundays with onions and bell peppers, they loved it. I have some russest in the refrigerator right now, and will report how they were in my update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Really easy and very tasty, perfect combination :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I microwave my potatoes, peel them after if you wish, or leave the skins. Slice or shred as desired. Fry in a pan with olive oil. The potatoes turn out crisp, not soggy and soaked with oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This is the recipe you've been looking for! No need to change a thing but you can. I cooked in a little bacon grease and added diced onion that burned a little so I'll have to work on that part. It is the cook then cool over night that makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used to fail miserably at hash browns till I found this method. If I have not planned ahead and precooked the night before I will chop and steam then fry right away. Can also sub evoo and add onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Just great hash browns. Finally, I can make them at home as good as any diner. Of course I play with it and make my own changes to taste and what I'm in the mood for but I just wanted to elaborate on the reviewer who mentioned why this works and referencing Shirley Corriher. First, it's actually the starch that crystallizes. If anyone knows anything about resistant starches, some of them are created by cooking starchy foods and letting them cool. They help block the digestion of carbs for several hours. So in essence, this cooking method is healthier for you. I won't comment on the actually overall nutritional benefits or values since I'm not a nutritionist but if I'm going to make hash browns and they're going to be as good or better than any diner, and "healthier," I'm making them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States