Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Has anyone tried using raw grated potatoes? TO DIE FOR :-) Peel,shred, squeeze the water out and fry as above. Crispy on the outside,gooey on the inside. We split them open and butter the insides. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I had high hopes for these based on the reviews but I must have done something wrong. First of all, the shredded potatoes did not stick together when we cooked them - they were very hard to flip and serve as they kinda fell apart. Secondly, the taste was quite bland (which could be easily fixed by adding more seasoning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I never knew there was a trick to hash browns. Mine always turned out sticky and gray, never knew you should boil them the night before! Thanks to this recipe, I have perfect hash browns every time and always have a few potatoes already made in the fridge so they're ready whenever and whatever portion I want. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
We SO enjoyed these - with lots of black pepper! I added just a little vegetable oil to the butter so I could raise the heat high enough to brown and crisp the potatoes without the butter burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am giving this a 5 for ease alone. I had microwaved some potatoes to use yesterday and didn't end up using them. It worked perfect with this recipe today. The recipe doesn't have seasoning, so they do have to be flavored to taste. Grating a cooked refridgerated potato is so much easier. The only thing else I did different is use 1 Tlbsp of vegetable oil and 1 Tblsp of whipped butter for the 2 Tblsp of butter to cut the saturated fat. Thank you, for simplifying the process of making hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
They taste great. I was not able to get mine as crispy as the restaurants but I would need to practice again. They got mixed up when I tried to flip. I has scaled down to 3 servings. I had my breakfast with coffee and scrambled eggs with cheddarella cheese. BIG Thanks to Denyse and Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is great! Much better then store bought. I was in a cruch and was able to make them in 30 min. thanks to P.M.'s directions to give them a 5 min. ice water bath. Worked out perfectly. I wasn't able to get all my potatoes shredded and fried tonight so I will be able to try them refrigerated overnight method too. Great hash browns, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I've been trying for close to 20 years to make good hash browns. I didn't know the secret was to cook your potatoes first. No more bagged frozen hash browns for me. These were almost restaurant quality hash browns. I think my only mistake was not using enough oil for frying. Thank your for sharing Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent and I highly recommend. I received rave reviews and the potatoes retained moisture due to the process of boiling/refrigeration. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is totally the real. deal. This came out perfect, what a great trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States