Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I am giving this a 5 for ease alone. I had microwaved some potatoes to use yesterday and didn't end up using them. It worked perfect with this recipe today. The recipe doesn't have seasoning, so they do have to be flavored to taste. Grating a cooked refridgerated potato is so much easier. The only thing else I did different is use 1 Tlbsp of vegetable oil and 1 Tblsp of whipped butter for the 2 Tblsp of butter to cut the saturated fat. Thank you, for simplifying the process of making hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
They taste great. I was not able to get mine as crispy as the restaurants but I would need to practice again. They got mixed up when I tried to flip. I has scaled down to 3 servings. I had my breakfast with coffee and scrambled eggs with cheddarella cheese. BIG Thanks to Denyse and Grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajaderecio
Living In: Upland, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is great! Much better then store bought. I was in a cruch and was able to make them in 30 min. thanks to P.M.'s directions to give them a 5 min. ice water bath. Worked out perfectly. I wasn't able to get all my potatoes shredded and fried tonight so I will be able to try them refrigerated overnight method too. Great hash browns, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I've been trying for close to 20 years to make good hash browns. I didn't know the secret was to cook your potatoes first. No more bagged frozen hash browns for me. These were almost restaurant quality hash browns. I think my only mistake was not using enough oil for frying. Thank your for sharing Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This recipe is excellent and I highly recommend. I received rave reviews and the potatoes retained moisture due to the process of boiling/refrigeration. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
This is totally the real. deal. This came out perfect, what a great trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This makes the best hash browns ever, rivaling restaurant quality. But it's very important not to overcook the potatoes. I make a huge batch and keep leftover shredded potatoes in the freezer, so they're ready whenever we want them. I like to leave the skins on. It is dangerous for me to have this recipe, because now I want to make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I steamed the potatoes then followed the recipe. The results were outstanding! Definitely on my breakfast menu from now on. Next time I might add some onions...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Very easy. Never thought to refrigerate potatoes but from what I've read, refrigerating the potatoes after boiling/steaming makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Don't overcook the potatoes, which I did the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Middletown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States