Grandma's Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I'll give this 5 stars but I don't think I cooked them correctly. I think next time I will wait 20 minutes on the first side before flipping. I think I flipped too many times. Anyway, the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
These were ABSOLTELY worth the time it took to make them! We made them with Chicken Fried Steak that we found on this site and had an oh so wonderful meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Very good. We served with baked pork chops for dinner. Plus, I peeled & shredded the raw potato, then soaked that in cold water for a bit. I drained the potato, seasoned with salt, pepper, 1T flour, & seasonings then cooked with a spoonful of oil, a pat of butter and cooked over low heat in a teflon pan for about 30 minutes. I didn't have time to do all the steps but these were crispy on the outside and creamy in the middle. Great Spuds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Excellent traditional way to cook Hash Browns. Want to make them more than a breakfast dish? Cook them and use them for a bed for a nice cajun filet of fish or any cut of fish. These are great and there is NO REASON they should be enjoyed only for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dughr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Outstanding! Very easy, very crispy and tasty - just the way they should be. And, I'm a huge fan of getting some of the work done the night before. All I had to do was shred the potatoes while the coffee was brewing.....then fry them up while getting some scrambled eggs prepared. Nice and easy. Thanks for sharing this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Excellent recipe that turned out great hash browns! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
WOW!!!! These are amazing! No need for ketchup or toppings. I used house seasoning instead of just salt and pepper. I make these all the time now. It's totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELAYA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were great! I boiled the potatoes a couple of hours before I needed them (didn't have time to do the night before) and let them sit in a pan of cold water to cool them. Still worked great! I also added green onions into the frying pan once the potatoes were almost done. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
At last, the trick to hash browns that are crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. A great basic recipe that you can alter in any way--the timing on boiling the potatoes was just about right. The only thing is you don't have to cool overnight (though it's probably easier); I stuck them in the fridge for just a couple hours and they were firm enough to shred. I followed everyone's advice and added a bit of oil to my butter. I didn't even need to add salt or pepper; they were perfect with ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIMMETTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I feel so cool now that I'm in the 'I-know-how-to-make-homemade-hashbrowns-that-aren't-slimey-and/or-grey' club. So, this is the secret: parboiling and refrigeration. These were perfect; I'll never buy store-bought hashbrowns again. Thanks Denyse's Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States