Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Outstanding! Family loved them, no leftovers! Bought some fresh beets today and came home and went to All Recipes for some ideas on what to do with them. Tried this recipe,cut back to 1/3 cup sugar and threw in some cloves and cinnamon as I remembered those flavors from my mother's beets. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used this for fresh beets. Peel and cut 6 medium beets and steam in a steamer basket for 25 min. Reserve 2T of the red water and add to a 4 cup glass measure combine 1/4 C sugar, 2 tsp cornstarch, 2T cider vinegar and cook in microwave for 2 min. Whisk in 3T melted butter and cook in microwave 1 more minute. Add beets to 2.5 qt casserole and pour sauce on top. Good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Outstanding flavor. My guests were crazy over the Harvard Beets and had to share the recipe and All Recipe Web site so they would leave me alone. Needless to say, there were no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
We all think our own Grandma's recipes are the best, don't we? And you are so right. These are superb! I used fresh beets which I had precooked and then reheated in the sauce as it simmered. Best Harvard beets I have ever had. The butter was the crowning touch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Wow these beets were sweet. I should have known when I put all of that sugar in the pan that something didn't look right. This recipe seems to be something that is prepared for a group that doesn't like the taste of beets. I won't make this recipe again, but if I were going to, I would cut the sugar down to about 1/4 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These are really good, but too much sugar cut down to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I trimed the calories on this by using Splenda instead of sugar and margarine instead of butter. Doubled the recipe as this was not enough to really cover the beets. My husband doesn't like beets but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I just made these beets. They were very good, however next time I think I will use less sugar and a tad more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These were very good except I would cut the butter out completely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Let me be clear here first of all.....I simply *do* *not* *like* beets...at all. In my mind there is a certain "ick" factor about red slimy veggies. But my hubby absolutely loves the stuff, so I decided to make it for him. First of all, it came out nice and thick but not too thick even though I forgot to put in the butter, salt and pepper at the end. Quite frankly, it didn't need it. Second of all, because I love my hubby, I agreed to try it. You know, it's actually pretty good. My hubby went wild over it. The only other thing I did different (aside from forgetting the butter and salt and pepper that is) was I used the beet juice like others here recommended. I'll make it again for sure....AND maybe even eat some myself. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States