Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe, but instead of using water, I use the juice the canned beets are packed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I do try to make the recipe as written before reviewing/making changes, but this time - I couldn't! But it was as close as I could come, since I just left out the butter - none left in the kitchen! I also had to use cider vinegar instead of white. I have to agree with others whose sauce didn't thicken much, and it boiled - vigorously! So next time I'll add a little more cornstarch, and since I just can't resist playing, I'll also add a little more ginger. While I originally thought the vinegar was too strong, it's netter the next time around - so I'll just cut it a bit instead of a lot. On the whole, way better than the supermarket variety! I can't ask Mom how it compares, since she only made pickled beets - no thick gooey sauce. Personally, I go for the sauce, so thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used this for fresh beets. Peel and cut 6 medium beets and steam in a steamer basket for 25 min. Reserve 2T of the red water and add to a 4 cup glass measure combine 1/4 C sugar, 2 tsp cornstarch, 2T cider vinegar and cook in microwave for 2 min. Whisk in 3T melted butter and cook in microwave 1 more minute. Add beets to 2.5 qt casserole and pour sauce on top. Good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are the best! Really just like Mom used to make. I served at a dinner party as a change of pace and the guests raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
These were very good except I would cut the butter out completely...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe has made me fall in love with beets. I honestly think I could eat this on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nascar43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cool Ridge, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I thought this was pretty interesting, but my husband really didn't like it. The cornstarch thickening the sauce does make it a bit off-putting. I followed reviewers' advice and cut the sugar to 1/3 c. but that made the vinegar too pronounced. I think 1/2 cup would be perfect. And this works fine with raw beets. Just cook them for 30 min., dice them and add them to the sauce. Save the cooking water to use in the sauce. Stir this regularly, otherwise it sticks to the bottom of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I've never eaten beets. I was expecting something else but got a pleasant surprise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
We all think our own Grandma's recipes are the best, don't we? And you are so right. These are superb! I used fresh beets which I had precooked and then reheated in the sauce as it simmered. Best Harvard beets I have ever had. The butter was the crowning touch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
used fresh beets, just need to cook longer. Never ate beets before, but I'll be making this again! Followed other suggestions about less sugar, and I think they were right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States