Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I never liked beets, but because my husband does, I tried this recipe. They were GREAT! Now I plan to make them again for our Church Supper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This is what you are thinking of when you think of old fashioned pickled beets. I find them a little too sweet, hence the 4 stars, but other than that, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I made these for Thanksgiving as a treat for my husband, my mother, and my grandmother. They raved over them !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I loved this recipe going to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I love this recipe. Just make sure you start it ahead of time because it is a little time consuming. But the vinegar adds just the right tang to beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Pam, Those are the best! I'm putting them on the Thanksgiving menu thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent recipe, but instead of using water, I use the juice the canned beets are packed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I do try to make the recipe as written before reviewing/making changes, but this time - I couldn't! But it was as close as I could come, since I just left out the butter - none left in the kitchen! I also had to use cider vinegar instead of white. I have to agree with others whose sauce didn't thicken much, and it boiled - vigorously! So next time I'll add a little more cornstarch, and since I just can't resist playing, I'll also add a little more ginger. While I originally thought the vinegar was too strong, it's netter the next time around - so I'll just cut it a bit instead of a lot. On the whole, way better than the supermarket variety! I can't ask Mom how it compares, since she only made pickled beets - no thick gooey sauce. Personally, I go for the sauce, so thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used this for fresh beets. Peel and cut 6 medium beets and steam in a steamer basket for 25 min. Reserve 2T of the red water and add to a 4 cup glass measure combine 1/4 C sugar, 2 tsp cornstarch, 2T cider vinegar and cook in microwave for 2 min. Whisk in 3T melted butter and cook in microwave 1 more minute. Add beets to 2.5 qt casserole and pour sauce on top. Good hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are the best! Really just like Mom used to make. I served at a dinner party as a change of pace and the guests raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States