Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Hands down, the best harvard beet recipe I have ever tasted! Easy to follow instructions and a wonderfully delicious result! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Absolutely incredible...even my wife ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are just like my wife's grandma's beets!!! She loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Burley
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Let me be clear here first of all.....I simply *do* *not* *like* beets...at all. In my mind there is a certain "ick" factor about red slimy veggies. But my hubby absolutely loves the stuff, so I decided to make it for him. First of all, it came out nice and thick but not too thick even though I forgot to put in the butter, salt and pepper at the end. Quite frankly, it didn't need it. Second of all, because I love my hubby, I agreed to try it. You know, it's actually pretty good. My hubby went wild over it. The only other thing I did different (aside from forgetting the butter and salt and pepper that is) was I used the beet juice like others here recommended. I'll make it again for sure....AND maybe even eat some myself. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good beet recipe - simple instructions, readily available ingredients, easy recipe and very tasty - took to July 4th party - received lots of compliments - I had never made a beet recipe like this before - I only had fresh beets and I tried to cook them in the sauce (peeled and thinly sliced, but it took too long) better the second time when I cooked the fresh beets which I peeled and sliced first (cooked until tender in boiling salted water) and then followed the recipe as directed. Yummy - definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Most delicious harvard beets ever. I used fresh beets and doubled the recipe. This will be my contribution to the 4th of July picnic at a friend's house. I would only take the best there for all my friends to oooh and ahhh over. This will do the trick, thanks to Grandma! Gracie Jarrettsville, MD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were yuuummm yuumm. The only thing I did different, was a little less sugar, so then I thought I should put a little less vinegar as well. I also use the beet juice for water. Very good recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I used about 1/2 cup beet water from cooking fresh beets with 1/2 cup more water. I used 1/3 cup Xylitol sweetener and 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. It took awhile to get as thick as I wanted but, dang, it was good! A childhood favorite that not too many people have even heard of. I was raised in NY State - is it an east coast thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Easy, yummy recipe. I used 2 cans of whole beets, quartered them for recipe. I used 1/2 cup sugar and cider vinegar, added a little cinnamon & cloves, and just a little of the beet juice as the cider vinegar made the sauce a funny brown color. The sauce thickened right up, and I only cooked the beets for about 10 minutes in the sauce (they just need to be heated, really.) Serving with the cauliflower pie with potato crust for dinner tonight (recipe also on this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Took this recipe to a church dinner today. It was a hit! This is my new go-to recipe for beets. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States