Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I'm sorry to say, I took one bite and had to throw it all out. I don't know if I did something wrong, but these were so gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This recipe took me back to my PA Dutch childhood! Wonderful aroma and taste. I served it cold with the Old Bay Shrimp Salad. The flavors complimented each other very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
Very easy. My husband and I liked this recipe. My son and daughter didn't really like it. Very mixed reviews in my household...will probably make again, much to my childrens displeasure:-) PS: I forgot to say when I first did this review, that since many reviewers said it is too sweet, I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup for 2 cans of beets, 1/6 cup for 1 can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
It's been years since I've had these delicious beets and this recipes was terrific! All my guests enjoyed the "different" vegetable I served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Skippack, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These beets taste just like the beets at Picadiily restaurant! I always wondered how they made them; now I know. Will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
just like i remember my mother harvard beets. GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Sandoval

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Junction, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
These are really good, but too much sugar cut down to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREDESTOGO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windber, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I trimed the calories on this by using Splenda instead of sugar and margarine instead of butter. Doubled the recipe as this was not enough to really cover the beets. My husband doesn't like beets but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
Wow these beets were sweet. I should have known when I put all of that sugar in the pan that something didn't look right. This recipe seems to be something that is prepared for a group that doesn't like the taste of beets. I won't make this recipe again, but if I were going to, I would cut the sugar down to about 1/4 cup or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Crete, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Outstanding flavor. My guests were crazy over the Harvard Beets and had to share the recipe and All Recipe Web site so they would leave me alone. Needless to say, there were no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

How to Make Pickled Beets

See how to turn fresh beets into homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States