Grandma's Harvard Beets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
While this recipe was close to what I was looking for, it was too sweet as is. I left out the cornstarch and the sauce jellied just fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I've never liked harvard beets, but these are really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Hands down, the best harvard beet recipe I have ever tasted! Easy to follow instructions and a wonderfully delicious result! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Absolutely incredible...even my wife ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are just like my wife's grandma's beets!!! She loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Burley
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Let me be clear here first of all.....I simply *do* *not* *like* beets...at all. In my mind there is a certain "ick" factor about red slimy veggies. But my hubby absolutely loves the stuff, so I decided to make it for him. First of all, it came out nice and thick but not too thick even though I forgot to put in the butter, salt and pepper at the end. Quite frankly, it didn't need it. Second of all, because I love my hubby, I agreed to try it. You know, it's actually pretty good. My hubby went wild over it. The only other thing I did different (aside from forgetting the butter and salt and pepper that is) was I used the beet juice like others here recommended. I'll make it again for sure....AND maybe even eat some myself. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Very good beet recipe - simple instructions, readily available ingredients, easy recipe and very tasty - took to July 4th party - received lots of compliments - I had never made a beet recipe like this before - I only had fresh beets and I tried to cook them in the sauce (peeled and thinly sliced, but it took too long) better the second time when I cooked the fresh beets which I peeled and sliced first (cooked until tender in boiling salted water) and then followed the recipe as directed. Yummy - definitely would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Most delicious harvard beets ever. I used fresh beets and doubled the recipe. This will be my contribution to the 4th of July picnic at a friend's house. I would only take the best there for all my friends to oooh and ahhh over. This will do the trick, thanks to Grandma! Gracie Jarrettsville, MD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
These were yuuummm yuumm. The only thing I did different, was a little less sugar, so then I thought I should put a little less vinegar as well. I also use the beet juice for water. Very good recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I used about 1/2 cup beet water from cooking fresh beets with 1/2 cup more water. I used 1/3 cup Xylitol sweetener and 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar. It took awhile to get as thick as I wanted but, dang, it was good! A childhood favorite that not too many people have even heard of. I was raised in NY State - is it an east coast thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Beets 'n' Sweets

Colorful side dish of roasted beets, sweet potatoes, and onion.

Roasted Beets and Sauteed Beet Greens

A foolproof method to cook beets and beet greens.

Grandma's Corn Pudding

This tasty, rich corn pudding is an easy side dish for fall occasions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States