Grandma's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
I found this way to starchy from the potatoes, not very flavorful. My husband ate a little more that I did, he didn't say much about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
So easy and great for having a family meal on a busy night... Even my husband could handle this one. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Use low sodium chicken broth instead of water and add some italian seasoning for extra flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
This one turned out pretty good. I used milk instead of water and added green peppers, onions and garlic. I seasoned it with salt, pepper and some red pepper flakes for a little heat. I think it would be better with some more cheese and maybe some fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Not bad but not a big hit at our house. I added salt/pepper/minced onion/soy sauce and it was still rather bland. Also substituted 3/4 can milk for the water as suggested. Added canned peas instead of mushrooms. Topped with shredded cheddar & a sprinkle of bread crumbs & uncovered to brown last 15 min of cooking time. Easy meal to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
EASY! Great way to use leftover ham. I added salt, pepper and celery seed and a can of cream of celery soup and took it to a church supper. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This was a very delicious and simple recipe. I added a half cup of gorganzola cheese to the mix: it added a touch of depth of flavor and was like eating a fettucine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I made a few modifications to this recipe, and it turned out great. I upped the ham to 2 cups, used tator tots instead of the sliced potatoes, omitted the carrots, and used more mushrooms. I also used milk instead of water, and added dashes of worchestershire, celery salt, garlic powder and onion powder, and a bit of salt and pepper. I covered the casserole for the first 40 minutes, then I uncovered it for another 15. At that point I topped it with shredded cheddar cheese and baked for about 5 more minutes. Nest time I think i'll add some finely chopped onions. I think this is a good basic recipe, with your own flavorful additions it'll turn out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNUGLBUGLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
This was a nice use for leftover ham. I added only 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery, and followed the advice of others on substituted the water for milk. I left the mushrooms out. I also increased the ham to 2 cups. I topped it with salt, pepper, and paprika and added some french fried onions in the last 15 minutes. I baked for around 2 hours total. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe was yummy!!! I don't care for mushrooms, and only added one 4 oz can. In addition I substituted milk for water, add some frozen peas, salt and pepper and a sprinkle of worcestershire. I am not the cook in our house, but my hubby just loved it! I did too! Thanks for a simple, easy recipe that tastes soooooo good! LAY A PIECE OF FOIL OVER TOP OF PAN DURING LAST HALF HOUR TO KEEP HAM FROM DRYING OUT! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States