Grandma's Ham Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Adjust the water depending on the number of spuds used. Needs to be spiced up with Salsa or some such.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2001
I thought the dish was very good, but did not think elegant would describe it and I think 4 servings would be closer than 6. I will definitely make it again when I have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Since we enjoy onions with scalloped potatoes, I added thinly sliced onions to this casserole; also added freshly ground black pepper to taste. We LOVED it and I'm looking forward to a covered dish supper to take it to!! "Mama Mary"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
I did not use carrots and added cheddar cheese the last 45 minutes of baking. Perhaps one cup of water would be better - too watery. We enjoyed it though and will prepare again - even the picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
Too many potatoes, Judy! Needed some other spices; I added some pepper. Thanks for the try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
The recipe doesn't say whether or not to cover the dish while cooking. There was still water in the bottom of the pan at the end of the cooking time. Perhaps milk would be better than water in the recipe. Very bland. My kids (8 & 10) wouldn't touch it. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My husband loved his. He said it was the most yummiest thing I've made in a long time. I'll definately make it again. I actually used more potatoes, and 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup along with about 3/4 can water of each. I used healthy request soup. I sprinkled salt, pepper, and onion powder over the potatoes and carrots. I didn't use mushrooms as I didn't have any on hand. I couldn't help thinking there was something missing so I added about a cup of the "French's" Durkee Fried Onions (the kind you put in green bean casserole), and I really think it made all the difference. I cooked it for about 2 hours uncovered. I'll will most certainly make this again. It was one of the easiest things I've ever done. Clean up was a snap too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I took the advice of others on this and came out with an all around good recipe. I did not add the canned mushrooms. I put 2 cups of ham and could have used more. I cut out the water and used 1/2 cup milk . I used garlic powder and ground pepper to taste. I added 1 teaspoon of worchester sauce and a 1/2 a cup mozzarella cheese. It took an hour and a half to cook and my family enjoyed it. I did not cover it. Anna H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Okay, here are my modifications to this recipe. It is a good recipe to feed a crowd (I have a family of six). I doubled the ham, doubled the carrots and used two cans of soup - yet only 1 can of milk. Be careful as it will overflow in the oven, and be sure to season and this recipe calls for no salt or pepper which would leave any recipe bland. Good luch! My group liked this recipe and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States