Grandma's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Update!!! This time I made it with Italian sausage and used just one can of the tomato sauce . Since I was using sausage, I cut the salt in half. I sauteed the onion before mixing it in with the sourcream/cream cheese mixture. Topped with mozarella. Great results and I thin I will try it with chorizo and mexican cheeses next time. I can see so many possibilities for grandmas homestyle casserole. I have to add that the review by the "Versatile Foodie" seems hardly fair. She reviewed this as if it was some fine wine or gourmet recipe. This is NOT that kind of recipe and I don't think it has been represented that way. This is just one of those old fashioned simple casseroles that calls for easily attained and simple ingredients. Nothing fancy schmancy, just good stick to the ribs family pleasing casserole. Thanks for sharing LaDonna and Grandma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Disappointed. Followed the recipe to the mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was a great find. The layers of sour cream, cream cheese, and onion really set off the flavor of this simple dish. The family really enjoyed it and leftovers weren't left over for very long. I imagine that many readers will find ways to tweak this recipe with additional ingredients. I prepared it exactly to the recipe and would argue that no adjustments are necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by late4supper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Found this as I had ground beef already cooking on the stove with a vague idea that I was going to cook SOME kind of casserole. I am always looking for new additions to our weekly routine and this one fit the bill nicely. I expected it to be a bigger hit with my small children, but my husband and I both enjoyed it immensely. I added canned peas and fresh chopped carrots as well as parsley, and I cooked most of the onion with the beef and only added a small amount to the cheese/sour cream mixture. I will make this again, but sparingly. This is firmly in the comfort food department and can't be very waistline friendly...which is why it tastes so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this casserole last night with a couple of very small moderations. Instead of chopping or dicing the onion, ( an entire sweet yellow onion ) I put it in my mini chopper and pureed it. I made the recipe with Prego@ Traditional spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. I topped the casserole with sharp cheddar, romano and parmesan cheeses. I loved this casserole, but better yet, my husband and grandson loved it too. ( my husband usually doesn't like casseroles. and doesn't like spaghetti. ) We had enough left for lunch today and it's even better the day after. This is a keeper. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great recipe, just make sure to undercook the pasta, otherwise it ends up a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I am trying to lose weight and am careful with my calories so I played with this. I used lean ground beef, switched the sour cream for fat free yogurt, used low fat cream cheese diced tomatoes instead of sauce and low fat mozzarella and I was able to make a very satisfying dish, true to the intent of the recipe and 25% fewer calories. I did add spinach to the cream cheese layer and fresh garlic because I had no garlic salt. There was plenty of flavor and as someone else pointed out this is a perfect recipe to your own taste. Thanks, Mrs. Wolfie we enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by MomByLove
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just a note: This recipe takes longer to "prep" than it states, since the item that simmers for 20 minutes is supposed to cool to room temperature before adding to the casserole dish. I didn't understand why, so I used it hot off the stove. This recipe is also very dish-heavy: a skillet to brown beef (and simmer tomato sauce), a pot to boil noodles (and a colander to drain them and/or the beef), and a casserole dish. I used a crock-pot to brown the beef, then reused it to bake the casserole. I also reused the pasta pot to simmer the sauce. I know that doesn't matter to everyone, but I was surprised by how much longer it took to get to the oven (than the 20 minutes stated), as well as by how it totaled out my available dishes while being a fairly "simple" dish. Waiting now for it to come out of the oven to see what my guys think of it. I'm cooking for hubby (with a small appetite due to recent surgery), 2 teenage boys, and 2 lower elementary age girls. Well, the unanimous vote was that it wasn't bad, but just nothing to write home about. We couldn't figure out whether to think of it as Mexican (because of the sour cream & cheese), or Italian (because of the noodles and tomato) or American (because of the onion and cream cheese). We all ate it... we were starved by the time it was finally done! So oh, well. If I try it again I will severely tweak it! Good taste, but not exciting enough to warrant the investment of time and dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomByLove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Very yummy. The second time I added a little more sugar and garlic salt and a pre-made spaghetti sauce instead of just plain tomato sauce and like that a lot better. The recipe as-is is a little bland for my taste, but overall a delicious addition to my family's menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was delicious. It really is a clean-out-the-fridge kind of dish. I used ground turkey, linguine instead of egg noodles, and diced tomatoes rather than tomato sauce. I also had to use onion powder b/c I was out of onions. I ended up throwing in a little bit of leftover vodka sauce with the meat and tomato mixture. I also added some grated parmesan and Italian seasoning with the sour cream/cream cheese mixture, and threw some frozen peas between the two layers. Husband, 4yo, and toddler all ate it up. Thank you for sharing a great starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States