Grandma's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
This is from the original poster, Mrs.Wolfie. This was my grandmothers recipe dated back to the mid-1940's. I posted as she wrote it on a recipe card. Some of the ingredients and steps may seem archaic so I wanted to make sure you all understood this is a 50 year plus recipe. The changes mentioned are nice and I'm glad so many are enjoying it. My family still prefers it the way Clatie made it.. I'm sure she is thrilled this simple recipe she made up has garnered this much attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Its pretty good however, needs some spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Usually this kind of recipe is not something I cook. I'm not much for gulah & casseroles but I decided to try it anyway. It was actually really good!!! Next time I will cut the cream cheese down a bit and probably mix the meat sauce with the sour cream & cream cheese just to ensure it's mixed a little better. Otherwise it was delish & a hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe was easy and and a hit with my family. I did have a few modifications. I use ground turkey instead of beef. While browning the turkey, I added some minced garlic and the diced onion. I also used a jar of spaghetti sauce versus the tomato sauce and sugar. I traded the egg noodles for a box of rotini pasta and used mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. To make it extra cheesy, I added Parmesan cheese to the sour cream/cream cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I make this a little differently and it's to die for. I use 2 lbs ground beef. 1 pint of sour cream, 1 11 oz of whipped cream cheese and 1 bunch of chopped green onions. I use Chinese noodles ( looks like spegetti). I put noodles in a 13x9 dish then the cream cheese mixture then tomato mix then cheese and refrigerate overnight. Cover in foil. Bake 350 for 40 min and take foil off and cook 5 min more. It is super yummy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Very good! I personally, think spaghetti sauce would be too sweet. Waaaay, too much onion and I like alot of onion and I used probably what is considered a medium onion. DO NOT OVERCOOK NOODLES!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I needed a recipe for ground beef and this looked simple. My husband and I both liked it. Lots of flavor. Although, I could see my younger grandchildren not liking the sour cream and onion. I'll definitely make this again, but I'll use garlic powder instead of garlic salt as I thought it was a bit salty. My husband didn't agree, he liked it as is. The only change I made was using kluski noodles (heavier noodle) instead of egg noodles because that's all I had on hand and I didn't have quite the 8oz. so there was more sauce and sour cream mixture than would have been. Oh, and I didn't wait until the sauce mixture was room temp. I just didn't have the time. I don't see where that changed anything. My only criticism is the amount of dirty dishes necessary to make the recipe. On the up side, it's a do ahead kind of meal and I can see where you can add various vegetables to make the dish more interesting. I'd add some zucchini or eggplant to kick it up a notch. I would even feel comfortable serving this to company. Just add a loaf of good Italian bread and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
This was a big hit. I added more sugar to tone down the tomato sauce (I forgot I had some spaghetti sauce I could have used), and added some oregano and pepper. I mixed the first layer of noodles and sour cream mixture with some cheese, then layered the rest according to the instructions. A green salad along with garlic bread made for a very good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yuba City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Way too much salt! That is all we could taste. I wonder if the contributor meant garlic powder instead of garlic salt. My kids would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Doll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Real good flavors & it was simple to prepare, but was a little dry. especially when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States