Grandma's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Way too much salt! That is all we could taste. I wonder if the contributor meant garlic powder instead of garlic salt. My kids would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATDOLL67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Real good flavors & it was simple to prepare, but was a little dry. especially when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiFink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
3-9-2104 good comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I made this casserole last night with a couple of very small moderations. Instead of chopping or dicing the onion, ( an entire sweet yellow onion ) I put it in my mini chopper and pureed it. I made the recipe with Prego@ Traditional spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce. I topped the casserole with sharp cheddar, romano and parmesan cheeses. I loved this casserole, but better yet, my husband and grandson loved it too. ( my husband usually doesn't like casseroles. and doesn't like spaghetti. ) We had enough left for lunch today and it's even better the day after. This is a keeper. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It was good. It tastes like lasagna mixed with stroganoff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is delicious, and inexpensive, and there is enough to feed at least six! I followed the recipe since it was the first time. Next time I want to double the cream cheese and sour cream, and add herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was just what I was looking for . Simple , had all of the ingredients and it was a very tasty dish .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomByLove
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Just a note: This recipe takes longer to "prep" than it states, since the item that simmers for 20 minutes is supposed to cool to room temperature before adding to the casserole dish. I didn't understand why, so I used it hot off the stove. This recipe is also very dish-heavy: a skillet to brown beef (and simmer tomato sauce), a pot to boil noodles (and a colander to drain them and/or the beef), and a casserole dish. I used a crock-pot to brown the beef, then reused it to bake the casserole. I also reused the pasta pot to simmer the sauce. I know that doesn't matter to everyone, but I was surprised by how much longer it took to get to the oven (than the 20 minutes stated), as well as by how it totaled out my available dishes while being a fairly "simple" dish. Waiting now for it to come out of the oven to see what my guys think of it. I'm cooking for hubby (with a small appetite due to recent surgery), 2 teenage boys, and 2 lower elementary age girls. Well, the unanimous vote was that it wasn't bad, but just nothing to write home about. We couldn't figure out whether to think of it as Mexican (because of the sour cream & cheese), or Italian (because of the noodles and tomato) or American (because of the onion and cream cheese). We all ate it... we were starved by the time it was finally done! So oh, well. If I try it again I will severely tweak it! Good taste, but not exciting enough to warrant the investment of time and dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomByLove

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I finally got kudos from my husband and mother-in-law! I pretty much don't know how to cook, but I could easily follow this recipe. And it was delicious! The only thing I would do differently next time is add a little more sour cream and cream cheese. We like our cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Not Bad, I'll add it to my list. Reminded me of spaghetti casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States