Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Turned out awesome! Listened to other people and reduced the sour cream and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I prepared this dish last night made it exactly like the recipe and the add-ons from other readers. We had a 50/50 response the main complaint was it's to salty, next time if I make it again will omit the "caned onions" change the cheese to White (yellow cheese is to salty ) omit the salt and maybe boost up the spices garlic powder other wise is was good but not a 5 stare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxy43
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I am sorry but this was way to rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Happy Camp, California, USA
Living In: Benson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this for a small "preT-day" meal for my husband and myself. I scaled the recipe down for 3-4 servings (whatever it took to get it down to one can of beans). It was delicious! I hate mushrooms (like I don't even want to be in the same county while someone is cooking them), but have always suffered through making the traditional casserole. I'm thrilled to have a new alternative. Now I'm just gong to have to resist making this all the time cause it'd kill my diet if I served it as often as I'd like. Oh, and as a bonus, it worked great as the creamy veg element of the filling when I made the leftovers from the meal into pot pies. Those were so yummy, I served them two days in a row! THANKS so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Add black pepper and garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe turned out great, but I made a LOT of changes based on the reviews. I used more onion (1/2 of an onion) and sauteed it and some minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I omitted the sugar because I didn't see the point of it and also added a little extra salt, plus some pepper and Worcestshire sauce. I cut the sour cream down to 1/2 cup and mixed 1 cup of cheese in with the green beans, then only used 1/2 cup of cheese on the top. Next time I might also try using fresh steamed green beans (but the canned tasted just fine). I think mushrooms would have been really yummy as well. The way I made it was delicious. I love the IDEA of this recipe (I was trying to get away from the creamed soup and canned onions), but it needed some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this as a side for Thanksgiving, but I tweaked it a bit by adding a kick. To those who prefer less bland green bean casserole, try adding a TBLSPN of Worchestshire and a few dashes of curry! And French-fried Onions on top of the cheese. Yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe, but used fresh green beans rather than canned -- it was fantastic! You can bet I will be making this dish again! I might add diced baby bella mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tscarisbrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone I served for Thanksgiving was used to the traditional cream of mushroom...This was a huge hit with everyone!!! I did use the french fried onions in place of the crackers and fresh onions. Only because I didn't have crackers.... it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone in my family liked this at Thanksgiving. I followed someone's suggestion to use Cabote cheese, but I used only half what was called for. I also used fresh green beans, using my Cuisanart's slicing blade to french them. The recipe is very rich, but delicious. This will be a tradition at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States