Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Make this every year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the only GBC you should ever make! I don't use the onions most of the time b/c usually I'm running late and they give me headaches. I just use French fried onions on the top (if the onions are cooked, I don't get a headache. Migraine trigger.) When I use the onions on top, I don't use the butter crackers. Also one of my best friends is gluten free, so the last time I made this I just excluded the flour and it worked just fine. I make it with fresh green beans as well. I love this recipe b/c it doesn't have cream of mushroom soup in it so it's easily turned into a completely healthy, organic side dish. Sour cream = good fats! (Made from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is basically how I have made my green bean casserole for a number of years with just a few slight changes. When you use canned green beans they are salty enough to omit the salt in the roux. Also, instead of the white flour, I use whole wheat flour and it gives it a little bit of a nutty flavor. I am asked to bring it to Thanksgiving every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Easy to follow looks delicious ....I'll know tomorrow at thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Weis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was awesome last year. This year I revised it just to be different. In stead of fresh onions, I used 6oz of French's Fried Onions, reserving1/2c for casserole topping. Added 4oz cream cheese. Added 1c shredded cheddar cheese. Added 1 can each of cream of chicken condensed soup and cream of celery condensed soup. Added 3c chicken broth (I use coffee water with bullion cubes or paste). I mixed all ingredients except the 1/2c fried onions, which I put on top of the casserole before baking. My clan loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I read most of the reviews before I made it. Cooked onions first, otherwise followed the recipe. Really good as I don't care for mushroom soup variety. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Vincent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I use whole green beans and mushrooms and leave off the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justine Michael
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
So I was a little lazy when it came to this recipe so instead of making the roux and adding in the sour cream I used a can of cream of mushroom soup so that the casserole would be think still. I also wanted the French fried onions that were nearly impossible to find (I should have known lol) so I substituted them for the cracker crumbs. All and all I turned this into a delicious Frankenstein of a green bean casserole and I think it turned out really well. Either way, seeing as this recipe was the main inspiration I thought it necessary to rate it very highly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Michael

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Has anyone after baking this recipe, frozen it, then just reheat to serve two days later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,866) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States