Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made it this year for Thanksgiving and everyone LOVED it. My brother-in-law stated it was the 'surprise hit of the evening'. Turns out he had taken some just to be polite but ended up eating seconds. I wasn't sure I'd like the combination of green beans and cheese but it was delicious! I did as some others suggested and mixed half of the cheese in with the beans and put the remaining on top. It was perfect and the one side I wish I would have doubled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bezue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Tried this for Thanksgiving dinner, using the suggestions of others to saute the onions in the butter at the beginning. It was delicious, the family loved it. This is my new go-to "holiday" green bean recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Muah.... EVERY SINGLE TIME.... MUAH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jossy
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
love this recipe everyone loves it when I make it. the only different thing I do is I add French's rench fried onions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jossy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Did not care for the sour cream taste. Too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Make this every year. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Odessa Oblast, Ukraine
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is the only GBC you should ever make! I don't use the onions most of the time b/c usually I'm running late and they give me headaches. I just use French fried onions on the top (if the onions are cooked, I don't get a headache. Migraine trigger.) When I use the onions on top, I don't use the butter crackers. Also one of my best friends is gluten free, so the last time I made this I just excluded the flour and it worked just fine. I make it with fresh green beans as well. I love this recipe b/c it doesn't have cream of mushroom soup in it so it's easily turned into a completely healthy, organic side dish. Sour cream = good fats! (Made from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Wainwright, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is basically how I have made my green bean casserole for a number of years with just a few slight changes. When you use canned green beans they are salty enough to omit the salt in the roux. Also, instead of the white flour, I use whole wheat flour and it gives it a little bit of a nutty flavor. I am asked to bring it to Thanksgiving every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Easy to follow looks delicious ....I'll know tomorrow at thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Weis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States