Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Everyone like this. A hearty dish without conflicting flavors like some other green bean casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
This is my go to holiday recipe. Everyone loves these green beans and there's never leftovers. I like that no cans of condensed soup were used, and the flavors are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made this for thanksgiving this year and EVERYONE was raving about how delicious it was and it was the only dish that didn't have any leftovers! I did follow some of the review and used 1/2 the flour and salt that is recommended. i will definitely be making this again! Thank you for the AMAZING recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great go-to holiday recipe for beans. Works really well as is - No need to modify or add to it. Also, it does work well with regular cut green beans instead of the "French Cut" beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MGLVR

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It was ok. Just not for my taste I guess. I enjoy the original Green Bean Casserole better. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great, easy to make and replaced the old stand-by! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is going to become a regular dish in my kitchen. Very easy to make, and a big hit with my holiday guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
My friends and family enjoyed this recipe with a couple of changes and additions. Since there was no seasoning I added some and made a few other changes. First of all, I parboiled two 16-oz. small bags of cut green beans instead of using the canned green beans. I sautéed the onion in the butter before adding the flour. I also added the following the sauce: approximately ½ cup of half n half, 1/8 tsp. garlic granules, ¼ tsp. Mrs. Dash Tableblend seasoning and 1/8 tsp. ground pepper. Overall this is a good recipe that you can start with and twist to satisfy your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coug Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JB68711
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
After reading the reviews, I thought "why not try something new?" It was great and I love that it holds together and isn't soupy like the usual green bean casserole. I did everything as directed, except a couple of things: I sliced the onions (instead of diced) and I let them cook a bit before I added the sour cream to the skillet. I eyeballed how much cheese I put on top, but it definitely wasn't 2 cups (maybe 1 cup). And I left some bigger pieces of crackers instead of crumbling it all. Other than that, I folowed as directed. *Keep in mind, while this makes 10 servings, the dish was finished by 5 people. We had it alongside ham and 2 other delicious sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving, then again for Christmas Eve with some slight changes the second time around and it was perfect. Definitely sauté the onion in the butter first. I also reduced the cheese to 1 cup and incorporated half of that to the green bean mix and then sprinkled the rest on top. And lastly, added about 3/4 of a can of French fried onions to the cracker/butter topping. My mother in law was just raving about it and thats a huge compliment coming from the best cook I know. Thank you, Amy for getting us hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States