Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I made this for Christmas and I am making this again at the end of Jan. I had a craving and my family enjoys this very much...I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe unless to add mushrooms not the soup just mushrooms...Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Okay, I have a couple of suggestions, but you could make this exactly as-is and people will fall in love. Despite green bean casserole being a nostalgic food favorite with a distinct flavor that this takes a sharp departure from, I have never once heard that someone wanted it the way they had it when they were a kid, after having tasted this masterpiece casserole. I don't think I've made this once without it being regarded as the highlight of the evening's food by all parties. So, what can I suggest to essentially improve on perfection? MAKE MORE! Seriously, no matter how much you make, it won't be enough, but I always make at least double. In addition, I double the crunchy topping because it's my favorite part. The Ritz crackers are great, but I've experimented a bit with that, most notably with everything Ritz crackers and Cheez-Its, and my favorite so far was the Cheez-Its. 10/10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maya Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I made this exactly as the recipe calls for (almost unheard of for this site anymore) and thought is was pretty good. Everybody liked it well too. I'll save this recipe and make it again someday for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I made this recipe and the "traditional" green bean casserole found on the fried onion canister for Thanksgiving. I had everyone who eats green bean casserole try both. Unanimously, everyone liked the traditional. Maybe we are all creatures of habit? I thought it was okay, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Very good, but the cheese was a bit much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TakoSauce

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The best green bean casserole I have ever tried. It is a keeper just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Took this to a pot luck and is disappeared fast. I followed other reviews and sauteed the onions first and I added fried onions into the bread crumbs, it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made this for Thanksgiving....my crew ate it but i found it to be a little bland. The cheese flavor just didn't come through like I thought it would. The rating is for my preparation....great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlyCaramelCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I stirred cheese throughout the dish and I also mixed in french's French fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving. I made this recipe based on the positive reviews, but was a little scared. I've never had cheese on green beans before and it just didn't sound right to me. But, it was a surprisingly good combination. I'll make this again especially when we want something different than the norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States