Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I detest mushrooms so i was excited to try this out. So, like others suggested, I took out half the flour and salt, kept sugar. Subbed salt for seasoning salt. Added black pepper and garlic powder. Just took the onions out (this time, next time I'll put them in 'cause I love me some onion). I steamed fresh green beans in my pressure cooker before mixing everything. Added all the sour cream because I added a bit of extra beans (no such thing as too much sour cream for some of us). Then added a little more than a cup of cheese to the mixture and therefore added a Lil less then half cheese on top (to equal the 2 cups). Finished it off with a homemade french onion recipe (just milk n flour basically) and wala! Delish! I'll give it a four because of all the editing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jipsi love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The people that ate this, absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe, except for instead of using the crackers I did use French's Onions and added some mushrooms. This was only so it wouldn't look different to the kids eating it. I made this hours before and was able to bake at our family's house. Was so easy. I thought about steaming the green beans, but used the can and it tasted wonderful. This will become a staple for me during the holidays. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Really enjoyed this and so did the guests I served. Definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The beans get lost in the cheese/sour cream sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
yes, it is good. I used about half the cheese and it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this twice now: 4 stars for the recipe as written and 5 stars with the recommendations of others. Saute the onions in the butter first before adding the flour and seasonings. I included garlic and black pepper in the seasonings. Also, many recommend cutting back on the sour cream but instead, I used an extra can of the French green beans. I incorporated about 1/4 of the cheese in the mixture and also used french fried onions (with a little melted butter to coat) as a topping instead of the crackers to give it that classic crunchy topping. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
My family and I love this recipe. Every time we have family get together, I am requested to make this green bean casserole. One recommendation is to reduce the sour cream by 1 table spoon, and double the top butter and cracker. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
We loved this recipe. I kept everything the same except I used fresh green beans... Will use this recipe again, especially around the holidays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Made this for Christmas, was a big hit. So much better than the one with cream of mushroom soup. Only change I made was using French's Fried Onions on top instead of the cracker crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States