Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Very good. Best one I've had so far. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Only green bean casserole I will make..my family insist on it. I use Kellogg Special K Cereal crunched up for topping instead of crackers and I've never put the onion in it..I might try that this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Kaler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This is a new favorite at Thanksgiving! It still has the great flavor of green bean casserole, but slightly more sophisticated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blindbutbriliant

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Harvesttime55
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Haven't tasted, smelled so good while baking! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
May not be healthy, but my oh my is it yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Merritt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I did not care for this...but...I should have really looked at the reviews before I made it. I will try it again but with the help of the reviewers tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Am testing recipes to be used for Thanksgiving. First, I made this the day before (minus the topping), the next day added the topping, one side french fried onions, the other side crushed crackers mixed with melted butter. It was great made the day before (always important for Thanksgiving). My family liked the crushed cracker topping better, which surprised me. Crushed crackers it is!!! I did use frozen french cut green beans, and as reviewers suggested, I did saute the onion in the butter in the first step. I also added sliced button mushrooms and would continue to do that in the future. As with any recipe, you have to adjust to your families preferences. I serve 30 for Thanksgiving and this recipe will be on the table this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wonderful, Easy and delicious. I just love this, i do however have a sour cream hater in the family - so i have had to alter this.. I saute my onions (and I add a handful of mushrooms) until translucent in the butter first then remove with a slotted spoon.. First and foremost, i must have frozen french cut green beans. Canned just won't do. I use Philadelphia cream cheese spread (in the tub-NOT brick) with 2 to 3 tablespoons of milk then I add a bit of powdered garlic and a small mix of black and white pepper all stirred nicely in my very deep pan. I put the two tablespoons of flour in a resealable bag add my slightly damp green beans, cooled onions and mushrooms then shake to cover finally adding to the pan that is cooking nicely on low heat- bringing it up to medium heat and stirring well! then its transfer to baking dish .. now i scale back on the shredded cheeses because I've used the cream cheese by about 1/2 cup. then follow recipe as usual. if you hate sour cream and its taste this may be an option for you (not of course if you hate cream cheese too though!) another substitute - heavy cream or half and half, but if you use the heavy cream or half and half, you may need to add a bit more flour. As written this is a jamming good green bean casserole! NO one recipe is ever universally loved nor even hated - think about what you and your family really like and adjust for their tastes - and now... I'm craving this casserole! thanks for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This recipe has actually been around since at least the 70's. A lady from church brought it to every potluck dinner and my mom has been making it for the holidays for as long as I can remember. It is my go-to side dish when I want to impress. You can easily make it a day in advance and then add the cracker crumb topping just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,790) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States