Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I will NEVER make the old canned soup recipe again! FABULOUS alternative. Made exactly as written. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
There just wasn't very much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was soo good. I used fresh french green beans instead of canned. It was hard to get correct measurements for fresh green beans. I ended up buying too many (two bags of 32 oz, thinking I'd use one and half, but one and half was too many for the small amount of sour cream mixture it made). Next time I will double the mixture. I also added the dried crunchy onions to the top mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely delicious! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa yang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Usually I don't do reviews for recipes but this one definitely deserves it! I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit! I made an extra one just because I ate most of the first one by myself. I used the fried onion strings instead of the crackers and it was way too salty so I would advise against that and this recipe doesn't make make much (hence the second one) so I would recommend doubling! Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Will never cook the "traditional" green bean casserole again. This was so full of flavor. Will be making this many more times. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aminarva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
After this recipe, I will never go back to canned green beans and fried onions. Delish! I used a raw onion, frozen green beans and diced bacon. The trick is to making a rue with the butter and flour. I definitely used more butter than the recipe calls for. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharrlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I am not a cook, but was asked to bring a green bean casserole io a Thanksgiving dinner. I found this recipe ( and this internet site), and by following the video made this dish without any trouble. It was delicious and everyone liked it. I have since added several recipes to my recipe box and will be doing more cooking. This site makes cooking fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was very excited to add a "new" green bean casserole to my repertoire, we were all pretty much over the old standby. I took the advice of Kimar and halved the flour and salt, sautéed the onion first (I would have done anyway) and mixed most of the cheese into the sour cream. All of those things worked well. I couldn't leave well enough alone, though. I decided to add about 2 cups of mixed, slice mushrooms to the onion sauté (this required a bit more butter/olive oil, about another 2 tablespoons) and let that cook for a pretty long time, probably around 10 minutes, they were very well caramelized. I then proceeded with the rest of the compilation but caved and added about a 1/2 c. of Trader Joe's fried onion bits to the sauce, as well as about a 1/2 cup of 1/2 and 1/2. I also layered the green bean mixture with some of the cheese, that worked well, incorporating it nicely into the casserole. I added the remaining cheese on the top, under the cracker crust (I added some of the french fried onions to the crackers, as well). When I make this again, I'll eliminate the top layer of cheese and incorporate it into the sauce, it just was to "hard" with the cracker crust. All in all, the comments basically ran like this; "Who made the green bean casserole, it's awesome!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I had been looking for a new twist on green bean casserole, I have grown very tired of the one that uses cream of mushroom etc. And this was fantastic just what i was looking for!!! I used fresh green beans and steamed them first. I used ALOT more cheese then the recipe called for and mixed it in with the green beans. I used my food processor to chop up the onions and garlic and then sauteed them, neither flavor was over powering at all. i did not use any crackers, instead a used the Frenches onions. I did smash them into way smaller pieces , added half to the green bean mixture and the other half I mixed with cheese for the topping and had no problem with an over hard crust. DELICIOUS, we had no left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States