Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
LONG time favorite in our family. The only difference is that we top the beans with corn flakes and sprinkle with a little butter before baking. Also, you can up the beans to 4 cans and cut the sour cream in half - better yet, substitute some Greek yogurt for a little lighter dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Thought this recipe looked good, I am not a big fan of green bean casserole, but this seemed to be ok. Made the sauce and discovered I had no green beans in the house, but did have 3 cans of whole kernal corn. Made everything else per recipe. It was great!!!. I will definately make this again using corn, so much better than beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
My family are requested this side dish for every Sunday dinner. Tried this variation for the first time and followed the recipe as suggested. I don't see the need to change anything..suited our tastes just fine. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shesellsseasshells2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is the same recipe that my mother-in-law typed on an old 3 by 5 card in one of those ancient hard-plastic recipe box from the early 1960's. After upgrading the terms her old recipe became this one! I would still grate the onion, though, and collect as much onion juice from the grating for the cream sauce. It makes for a tastier flavor. Instead of cheddar cheese, try swiss cheese--it pairs MUCH BETTER with the green beans (and shredded swiss is now available at the grocer's). I like the idea of coating the green beans with the sauce in this recipe; the old recipe wanted the beans layered with the cheese, and the cream sauce poured over the top of everything. I think coating the beans with the sauce ensures better coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
best green bean casserole ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
a little less sour cream and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
very good....everyone loved it; made as described
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
The onions should be sauteed first and the cheese could be substituted with shredded Gruyere for a little bit of bite. Otherwise, it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I love this recipe! I love green bean casserole, but sadly I have a mushroom allergy. So when I stumbled onto this recipe that didn't call for mushroom soup, I knew I had to give it a try. I followed some suggestions to cook the onions ahead of time before the baking and found that worked out really well. I like to make this recipe ahead of time and store it in the refrigerator overnight, since I tend to make this for Thanksgiving/Christmas. It saves me time the next day and I can just throw it in when I'm ready. My family loves this recipe, and I continue to get special requests for this casserole. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I think I just wasn't a big fan of the cheese. Otherwise it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel.williams

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States