Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I don't like leaving bad reviews but I made this for Thanksgiving instead of the traditional mushroom soup recipe and sad to say, only one person liked it (out of 8). Admittedly I used frozen cut green beans instead of french style but it really didn't have a lot of flavor. Back to the old version that everyone liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachguy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Turned out awesome! Listened to other people and reduced the sour cream and added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I prepared this dish last night made it exactly like the recipe and the add-ons from other readers. We had a 50/50 response the main complaint was it's to salty, next time if I make it again will omit the "caned onions" change the cheese to White (yellow cheese is to salty ) omit the salt and maybe boost up the spices garlic powder other wise is was good but not a 5 stare dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxy43
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I am sorry but this was way to rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Happy Camp, California, USA
Living In: Benson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I made this for a small "preT-day" meal for my husband and myself. I scaled the recipe down for 3-4 servings (whatever it took to get it down to one can of beans). It was delicious! I hate mushrooms (like I don't even want to be in the same county while someone is cooking them), but have always suffered through making the traditional casserole. I'm thrilled to have a new alternative. Now I'm just gong to have to resist making this all the time cause it'd kill my diet if I served it as often as I'd like. Oh, and as a bonus, it worked great as the creamy veg element of the filling when I made the leftovers from the meal into pot pies. Those were so yummy, I served them two days in a row! THANKS so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Add black pepper and garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe turned out great, but I made a LOT of changes based on the reviews. I used more onion (1/2 of an onion) and sauteed it and some minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I omitted the sugar because I didn't see the point of it and also added a little extra salt, plus some pepper and Worcestshire sauce. I cut the sour cream down to 1/2 cup and mixed 1 cup of cheese in with the green beans, then only used 1/2 cup of cheese on the top. Next time I might also try using fresh steamed green beans (but the canned tasted just fine). I think mushrooms would have been really yummy as well. The way I made it was delicious. I love the IDEA of this recipe (I was trying to get away from the creamed soup and canned onions), but it needed some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this as a side for Thanksgiving, but I tweaked it a bit by adding a kick. To those who prefer less bland green bean casserole, try adding a TBLSPN of Worchestshire and a few dashes of curry! And French-fried Onions on top of the cheese. Yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe, but used fresh green beans rather than canned -- it was fantastic! You can bet I will be making this dish again! I might add diced baby bella mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tscarisbrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone I served for Thanksgiving was used to the traditional cream of mushroom...This was a huge hit with everyone!!! I did use the french fried onions in place of the crackers and fresh onions. Only because I didn't have crackers.... it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 1,865) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States