Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have used this recipe for the past 3 Thanksgivings. This year I made a few adjustments and it was over the top! I used Cabot Seriously Sharp White Cheddar to mix in the and top the green beans. I also used french fried onions since that is my husband's favorite part of a green bean casserole. Like many reviewers have mentioned, make sure to cook the onions in butter until they are translucent. Once you try this recipe, whether you alter it or not, you'll never go back to nasty mushroom green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for Thanksgiving and it was wonderful. For the first time ever my husband complimented the green bean casserole and asked for second. This is so much better than the canned soup kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made GB casserole under duress because my family loves the back-of-the-soup version so much. I made this and it was a huge hit. Better in every way than the cans and just as easy. I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect. Next time, I might do less sour cream/cheese - but for Thanksgiving the extra gooey-ness was a great treat. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
A little too much sour cream for my liking. My picky boyfriend loved it though so 3 stars is what it's getting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I just made this for Thanksgiving and my family loved it! There was nothing left. I did as everyone else suggested and sauteed the onions first. I also used fresh green beans and steamed them. I even made this a few days before Thanksgiving and froze it. I thawed it 24 hours in advance and then popped it in the oven to reheat--sprinkled French's crunchy onions on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
i had high hopes for this, but it just didn't deliver. nothing impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Different from your typical green been casserole. Was a nice change and a hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kepolanani

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Outstanding! I used Trader Joe's frozen haricort vert, roasted corn and added sliced crimini mushrooms sauteed with onions. It was the best "traditional" Thanksgiving veggie casserole ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Louise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good. Will continue to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Warren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is exactly the same recipe that I have been making for years and my kids always ask for it. Only two differences: We call it "Gran's Green Bean Casserole" and instead of crumbled crackers we use Special K cereal. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 1,832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States