Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was an excellent alternative to the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom. It's savory, creamy and delicious. I took the advise of others and steamed some fresh green beans & then followed the directions. This is a great recipe that the family loved. It will be added to the traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Signed up just so I could review this. Excellent!! The only changes I made was I added some diced bacon, Yum! I also caramelized the onions. mixed it up in a crock pot to save the oven space at my moms where I took it for Thanksgiving. I should have bought another can because it was gone so fast. The one problem I had was the hot butter and the flour didn't get along to well. Instant goop! Next time I will try skipping the flour .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madddawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make! I, too, steamed about 2lbs of green beans first, and mixed some cheese and fried onions into it in addition to topping it all off. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love sour cream & cheese but we thought it was overkill - too much of a good thing that didn't add anything to this recipe. I did like the buttery cracker topping though & will use it instead of my usual breadcrumbs. (Don't like canned onion rings.) My family prefers it made with a homemade sauce with extra mushrooms & fresh steamed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
My daughter-in-law, who is my pickiest eater will ask for thirds and leftovers (haha) on the green bean casserole!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Two stars because the recipe as is is not good! Main thing as you'll read in other reviews is to cook the onions in the butter before adding the flour. Reduce the flour a bit and add half the cheese into the casserole and te other half on top. The best life changing suggestion go can make based on the recipe my family has year for years is to add bacon and canned mushrooms Ino the mix as well! AMAZING !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The BEST BEST BEST green bean casserole!!! This is our favorite side for any occasion. I have to double this every time & still have no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I think it's probably a great dish but the real "Green Bean Casserole" is a perfect, not too rich dish that goes so well with Thanksgiving dinner, why try to improve on perfection? Call this one: Cheesy, Buttery,Green Beans Casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
We had made this recipe in special occasion for the past few year, no leftovers ever, I am not crazy about green beans, unless is this recipe. Love it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
GOOD EATS!!! No more Cream of Mushroom soup!! After reading previous reviewers comments, I too sautéed the onions in the butter (actually Country Crock). Added the flour till smooth, the sour cream and 1tsp.salt, pepper and the sugar. Tasted for seasoning..a bit "one note" so added one tsp. garlic powder, several dashes of paprika..and yes a few dashes of soy sauce. Re-tasted..much more savory with more depth of flavor. Added the steamed green beans (Birds Eye "steamers"..2 bags microwaved in bag for 6 minutes first). Mixed all together with about 1/2 cup of cheddar, along with french's fried onions. Baked 15 minutes then topped with fried onions mixed with 1/2 cup of cheddar and finished the last 15 minutes of baking, I had noticed in the pictures that many of the tops looked a bit too brown, adding the topping the last 15 minutes of baking made a golden brown crunchy topping. Yum..perfecto
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States