Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I am not too big on veggies, but I CRAVE this dish!!! First, FRESH, steamed grean beans are key! I reduce the sour cream to 3/4c as others have suggested, reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp, add black pepper, and 1&1/2 tsp garlic powder with the salt & sugar. I use a large can of french fried onions and mix 1/4-1/2 can into beans, the rest I crush with the cracker topping and extra melted butter. I add extra cheese (like most cheesy recipes I use), and mix some into the beans. This can be mixed together ahead of time then thrown in the oven 30 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I made it as printed. The onions were crunchy and raw, it was salty, and the flour made it too thick. I tried it again, incorporating suggestions from previous reviewers. I sauteed the onion in the butter until tender and translucent, and I reduced the salt and the flour by half, and added half of the cheese into the beans mixture. It was much better the 2nd time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I LOVED this and so did my entire family. Just perfect, thank you! To a previous reviewer (Rose): Shame on you for leaving such a low rating after changing almost the entire recipe. Raters like you drive me crazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
797 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Had such HIGH HOPES for this recipe based on the sheer amount of reviews, but my family seriously disliked this dish..... Have to give it 1 star as I tended to agree with them after two preparations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
248 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
This was good, but I think my green bean casserole taste better. They are very close, but you need to saute onions in butter until soft add flour, salt sugar and dash of pepper. Remove from heat add sour cream. Spread over green beans and top with swiss cheese. Bake until cheese melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tomahawk, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Absolutely Amazing! I made this for Christmas exactly as the recipe is written, as I always try to do first, and then I made this again today, as a request by my husband for his regional meeting luncheon. The first time was really great with simple go to ingredients, but the second time with a little extra energy and personal preferences added....was to die for. The serving dish at the luncheon was all but licked clean. My husband even found one of his crew scraping the serving spoon to ensure all that was to be had was had! Too funny. The second time I made some minor changes. I used approximately 2 lbs fresh green beans which I steamed just shy of perfect since they were going in the oven as well, I used two 8oz blocks of Cabot (absolute hands down best cheese ever) seriously sharp cheddar (whatever reviewer said there was too much cheese would not be able to survive living at my house!) mixing about 4 oz into the beans, I minced my onion so there would be no large bites in my finished casserole, I added several turns of course ground black pepper, added about 1/2-1 t of garlic powder and finally used the French's Onions at my husband's request. The casserole was loved by all and I was finally not the one taking food home from a covered dish! Thank you so much Amy this is my new go to favorite for holidays AND covered dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
212 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAMAPRIL99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
My family and I liked this recipe much better than the ones with cream of mushroom soup. The only suggestion I have is to mix the cheese in with the green beans, otherwise it makes a crust on top that is hard to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Excellent! Four stars because there is so much cheese. We love cheese as much as much as the next person; however, this is way to much. If you are a moderate cheesse person and concerned with fat, use 1 cup, the taste will still be there. If you are a cheese lover, use 1 1/2 cups, that should be more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
The recipe would be fine as is, but it's superb if you saute onions in butter first. When I make this recipe, I use fresh green beans from my farmer's market. I steam them first, using chicken broth instead of plain water. While they are steaming, I cook the onions in butter until transluscent, then add the flour, sugar, salt & pepper, cook 1 minute, then turn off heat. Then add sour cream and 1/2 the cheese in the saute pan. Pour this mixture over the beans in the casserole dish, add the other 1/2 cheese, then the crackers & butter. I could eat the whole thing myself, it's so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This recipe is a great alternative to the classic green been casserole with the fried onions. I first made this last year for a family dinner and it got rave reviews. I knew it was REALLY good when over the past year it was requested frequently. I wouldn't change a thing, just be sure you use the CANNED FRENCH STYLE green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States