Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I made several modifications to this recipe so I can't really say my rating applies, but it was excellent! We definitely liked it better than using canned cream of chicken/mushroom soup. I made the following changes: used 1lb blanched fresh green beans (could have used 1.5-2lb with the amount of sauce there was) added 1c chicken broth to the roux before adding the sour cream, used 2t onion powder instead of diced onion (I was in a hurry), and used the traditional French Fried Onions instead of Ritz crackers, mixing some in and using some for topping. Love the addition of the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Easy to make and very tasty. Took off one star because too salty if you make it as written. Next time will use half the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
This recipe is specifically requested by my family at any family gathering. Best green bean casserole I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe is great all by itself. I've recently gone vegetarian and it's a great dish to make along with roasted potatoes. Very filling. I made the following changes so it would be healthier (with almost a negligible effect on taste): fat free sour cream, 1.75 cups of fat free cheddar cheese, green beans without any salt/sugar added, and reduced fat crackers. I also sautéed the onions first as other reviewers have recommended. Next time, I'll probably add more onions and use fresh steamed green beans as opposed to canned green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Love, love, LOVE this recipe! So happy to have a green bean casserole recipe that uses french cut green beans and no cream of mushroom soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEROJUNKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
An exceptional side dish that even the grandchildren enjoyed. We used the recommended fresh, steamed beans and added French fried onions into the beans which gave it nice texture and flavour. This will be a new favorite at special dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this for a family gathering as I wanted to try something different than the standard green bean casserole. It was so much better than I thought it would be! Everyone loved it! I added some crushed fried onions to the cracker crumble mix, just to give a little more flavor. Super easy and super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Steamed green beans and French fried onions instead of the crackers. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was too bitter and salty. Yuck. I had to throw half of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States