Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Made it for Thanksgiving this year. The whole family absolutely loved it! I especially love that it is not made with condensed cream of anything soup! It is delicious. I topped it off with french fried onions, because that's what I had on hand, but no doubt it's just as great with any topping. (Also, halved the salt and flour like others suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I checked some other reviews and used 3/4 cup sour cream and added some pepper. I also added water chestnuts upon request. I only used about 1 1/4 cups cheese and mixed some in the dish. Went over very well at Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
The only thing that I did differently is I sauteed the onions before I added the flour. Oh, and I also added some fried onions to the top because they're delicious and I felt like I needed more onion flavor. This turned out really great, though. Made it for T-Day and it went quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Amazing! I followed advice of others to sauté onions first and also mixed in 1 c of cheese with the bean mixture. I also used a little extra cheese and crackers on top because I have some major cheese heads to please. Even without tinkering, this is the only GB casserole recipe I'll ever use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this as it called for, nice flavor, it was super simple and easy, however I sautéed the onions with the butter as I noticed others suggested, I will defiantly make this again but will cut back on the flour and sour cream as others suggested. Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goconnor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
tasted too much like sour cream for me, even though i only used 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Based on the ingredients I really thought that I would have liked this. I ate a few green beans before putting them in the pan and they were good, but the cheese on top just ruined the whole thing. It could be that my taste buds are just off from all the other food I ate durning that meal, but I did not like it, nor did the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Something different and we liked it. I wasn't quite prepared for how sour it turned out, but after a few bites, it became much better. I had to use more crackers though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I deleted the white sugar, used fresh blanched haricots verts and topped it with French's Onions instead of Ritz crackers. I also sauteed the onions before adding the flour. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is amazing!! it did not last long. I did make some changes though, first off I used fresh steamed green beans and then I sauted the onions in a small skillet with oil before I put them in the big skillet and I also didn't put crackers on top because of allergy's but I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,766) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States