Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Based on the ingredients I really thought that I would have liked this. I ate a few green beans before putting them in the pan and they were good, but the cheese on top just ruined the whole thing. It could be that my taste buds are just off from all the other food I ate durning that meal, but I did not like it, nor did the rest of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Something different and we liked it. I wasn't quite prepared for how sour it turned out, but after a few bites, it became much better. I had to use more crackers though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I deleted the white sugar, used fresh blanched haricots verts and topped it with French's Onions instead of Ritz crackers. I also sauteed the onions before adding the flour. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is amazing!! it did not last long. I did make some changes though, first off I used fresh steamed green beans and then I sauted the onions in a small skillet with oil before I put them in the big skillet and I also didn't put crackers on top because of allergy's but I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I wish I had cut the salt in half, and skipped the crackers, just added the fried onions instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made this today for Thanksgiving. I'm bad for trying new recipes for a crowd rather than trying them at home in private first. I trusted the reviews and gave it a try. This was really, really good, and I got many compliments. I doubled the recipe, and there was very little left over. My only complaint is that it was too salty...still delicious, but definitely too salty. I doubt eliminating a tsp of salt will make a difference, so it must be the cheese. I'm not sure if reducing that will make a difference, but I will give it a try next time...and there will be a next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was an excellent alternative to the traditional green bean casserole with cream of mushroom. It's savory, creamy and delicious. I took the advise of others and steamed some fresh green beans & then followed the directions. This is a great recipe that the family loved. It will be added to the traditional meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Signed up just so I could review this. Excellent!! The only changes I made was I added some diced bacon, Yum! I also caramelized the onions. mixed it up in a crock pot to save the oven space at my moms where I took it for Thanksgiving. I should have bought another can because it was gone so fast. The one problem I had was the hot butter and the flour didn't get along to well. Instant goop! Next time I will try skipping the flour .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madddawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make! I, too, steamed about 2lbs of green beans first, and mixed some cheese and fried onions into it in addition to topping it all off. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I love sour cream & cheese but we thought it was overkill - too much of a good thing that didn't add anything to this recipe. I did like the buttery cracker topping though & will use it instead of my usual breadcrumbs. (Don't like canned onion rings.) My family prefers it made with a homemade sauce with extra mushrooms & fresh steamed beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,759) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States