Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Pretty good. Very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I used a jack cheese instead of cheddar and my family did not enjoy the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
good, but I doubled the beans, because otherwise it's too creamy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Way too heavy on the sour cream. I didn't like the casserole much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I detest mushrooms so i was excited to try this out. So, like others suggested, I took out half the flour and salt, kept sugar. Subbed salt for seasoning salt. Added black pepper and garlic powder. Just took the onions out (this time, next time I'll put them in 'cause I love me some onion). I steamed fresh green beans in my pressure cooker before mixing everything. Added all the sour cream because I added a bit of extra beans (no such thing as too much sour cream for some of us). Then added a little more than a cup of cheese to the mixture and therefore added a Lil less then half cheese on top (to equal the 2 cups). Finished it off with a homemade french onion recipe (just milk n flour basically) and wala! Delish! I'll give it a four because of all the editing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jipsi love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
The people that ate this, absolutely loved it! I followed the recipe, except for instead of using the crackers I did use French's Onions and added some mushrooms. This was only so it wouldn't look different to the kids eating it. I made this hours before and was able to bake at our family's house. Was so easy. I thought about steaming the green beans, but used the can and it tasted wonderful. This will become a staple for me during the holidays. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Really enjoyed this and so did the guests I served. Definitely would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Over rated, the beans get lost in the cheese/sour cream sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
yes, it is good. I used about half the cheese and it was plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I've made this twice now: 4 stars for the recipe as written and 5 stars with the recommendations of others. Saute the onions in the butter first before adding the flour and seasonings. I included garlic and black pepper in the seasonings. Also, many recommend cutting back on the sour cream but instead, I used an extra can of the French green beans. I incorporated about 1/4 of the cheese in the mixture and also used french fried onions (with a little melted butter to coat) as a topping instead of the crackers to give it that classic crunchy topping. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States