Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made substitutions because of my dietary issues: cream cheese for sourcream and omitted the sugar. I used fresh wax beans and let is cook for an hour (since the fresh are more firm). Came out excellent!!! I typically hate green bean casserole but this one I love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Elise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Not a fan. I thought the green beans tasted more sticky than creamy. I ate it, but I think I'll try something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I love this. I love this recipe so much! I have made it multiple times and know I will continue to make it. I have switched over to using fresh green beans instead of canned which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! The fresh green beans add a nice fresh taste and texture to this dish. Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this version every year at Thanksgiving! Even the picky eaters in my family love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The entire time my non vegetable eating son was shoving fork fulls of this in his mouth he said "I can't believe I'm eating vegetables" I used red onion because it's all I had. I added most of the cheddar cheese into the casserole and save about 1/2 cup for topping. I also had some french Fried onion from the awful green bean recipe I tried. I added some into the mixture and some on top with crackers Oh and I used frozen petite green beans, I added them frozen into the mixture although they had pretty much thawed by the time I got them into the oven. I found I needed about 55 minutes until the green beans were tender. This was so delicious, I can't wait until tomorrow so I can eat the leftovers! Thanks Grandma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I improvised a little on this recipe. Yunno, go through your kitchen and see what you have. Instead of canned beans i used fresh green beans from my moms garden and Panco instead of Crackers and butter..and my mom loved it! Especially the added Crunchiness the fresh beans gave. Thank you for the recipe idea. I will keep looking for more amazing ideas from allrecipies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi Schubkegel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I loved it so much....i get alot of compliments on it. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I can't enjoy traditional green bean casserole anymore--this recipe is so much better! I used regular cut green beans instead of French cut, and I sauteed the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It was nice and easy to prep perfect for the nights I forgot to thaw meat out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,763) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States