Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The absolute best green bean casserole I have ever had. The only changes that were made the recipe were using fresh green beans and plain yogurt instead of sour cream. Oh, and putting the cheese in the sauce instead of on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JohnfromVA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
My family didn't care for this at all. I won't be making it again. I am pretty sure the sugar was the issue. The only thing I did differently was to use fresh steamed beans. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I decided to make this after seeing it in the Allrecipes magazine and realizing it didn't have cream of mushroom soup in it. Absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly (which I never do) and it came out great. Who says you have to wait for a holiday for green bean casserole? This recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Omit the salt otherwise too salty. One time I added 1 cup cheddar cheese to the green bean/sour cream mixture; the other time I didn't. Cheddar + green bean and sour cream mixture = no leftovers; the other time, the beans didn't look creamy so there were plenty of leftovers. I always use canned green beans not the French style. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made substitutions because of my dietary issues: cream cheese for sourcream and omitted the sugar. I used fresh wax beans and let is cook for an hour (since the fresh are more firm). Came out excellent!!! I typically hate green bean casserole but this one I love!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Elise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Not a fan. I thought the green beans tasted more sticky than creamy. I ate it, but I think I'll try something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I love this. I love this recipe so much! I have made it multiple times and know I will continue to make it. I have switched over to using fresh green beans instead of canned which I HIGHLY RECOMMEND! The fresh green beans add a nice fresh taste and texture to this dish. Thank you for sharing this with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I make this version every year at Thanksgiving! Even the picky eaters in my family love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
The entire time my non vegetable eating son was shoving fork fulls of this in his mouth he said "I can't believe I'm eating vegetables" I used red onion because it's all I had. I added most of the cheddar cheese into the casserole and save about 1/2 cup for topping. I also had some french Fried onion from the awful green bean recipe I tried. I added some into the mixture and some on top with crackers Oh and I used frozen petite green beans, I added them frozen into the mixture although they had pretty much thawed by the time I got them into the oven. I found I needed about 55 minutes until the green beans were tender. This was so delicious, I can't wait until tomorrow so I can eat the leftovers! Thanks Grandma!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,843) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States