Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Followed the recipe to a T. Will never cook the "traditional" green bean casserole again. This was so full of flavor. Will be making this many more times. Thank you so much for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aminarva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
After this recipe, I will never go back to canned green beans and fried onions. Delish! I used a raw onion, frozen green beans and diced bacon. The trick is to making a rue with the butter and flour. I definitely used more butter than the recipe calls for. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharrlamb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I am not a cook, but was asked to bring a green bean casserole io a Thanksgiving dinner. I found this recipe ( and this internet site), and by following the video made this dish without any trouble. It was delicious and everyone liked it. I have since added several recipes to my recipe box and will be doing more cooking. This site makes cooking fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was very excited to add a "new" green bean casserole to my repertoire, we were all pretty much over the old standby. I took the advice of Kimar and halved the flour and salt, sautéed the onion first (I would have done anyway) and mixed most of the cheese into the sour cream. All of those things worked well. I couldn't leave well enough alone, though. I decided to add about 2 cups of mixed, slice mushrooms to the onion sauté (this required a bit more butter/olive oil, about another 2 tablespoons) and let that cook for a pretty long time, probably around 10 minutes, they were very well caramelized. I then proceeded with the rest of the compilation but caved and added about a 1/2 c. of Trader Joe's fried onion bits to the sauce, as well as about a 1/2 cup of 1/2 and 1/2. I also layered the green bean mixture with some of the cheese, that worked well, incorporating it nicely into the casserole. I added the remaining cheese on the top, under the cracker crust (I added some of the french fried onions to the crackers, as well). When I make this again, I'll eliminate the top layer of cheese and incorporate it into the sauce, it just was to "hard" with the cracker crust. All in all, the comments basically ran like this; "Who made the green bean casserole, it's awesome!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I had been looking for a new twist on green bean casserole, I have grown very tired of the one that uses cream of mushroom etc. And this was fantastic just what i was looking for!!! I used fresh green beans and steamed them first. I used ALOT more cheese then the recipe called for and mixed it in with the green beans. I used my food processor to chop up the onions and garlic and then sauteed them, neither flavor was over powering at all. i did not use any crackers, instead a used the Frenches onions. I did smash them into way smaller pieces , added half to the green bean mixture and the other half I mixed with cheese for the topping and had no problem with an over hard crust. DELICIOUS, we had no left overs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Huachuca City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was a hit on Thanksgiving! Made it exactly as stated, and had approval across the board :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashroon
Home Town: Yorktown, New York, USA
Living In: Tarrytown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This was the green bean casserole I've ever had. I did sauté the onion first and bought French's onions for the inside and on top. My new standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanford, California, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have never eaten or made Greenbean casserole, Everyone I know loves it and gave me the standard French Onion Mushroom Soup Recipe. As badly as I've always wanted to try Green Bean Casserole the thought of French Onions always made me cringe. Then I found this Perfect Recipe, this Dish was a HUGE hit at my Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it said it was the best they have ever had and could not believe it was my first time making the dish. This dish will always have a place at my Table, it has actually replaced macaroni and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor Yogg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this for thanksgiving dinner 2014. It was a hit! Even those that don't like the French onion/cream of mushroom version were very pleased with it. Thought I might get seconds, but it was gone before half time. GREAT RECIPE! I prepped it the night before and let it set in the fridge before the final bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan L. Conrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Yes ! I love green bean casserole and gave this a try and it's a Far cry better than the cream of mushroom soup/ fried onion variety. The flavor was fantastic, and even those that don't like the typical green bean casserole really liked this recipe. No Tweaks Necessary, recipe is great as it comes! This one is my keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States