Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made this as a side for Thanksgiving, but I tweaked it a bit by adding a kick. To those who prefer less bland green bean casserole, try adding a TBLSPN of Worchestshire and a few dashes of curry! And French-fried Onions on top of the cheese. Yums.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe, but used fresh green beans rather than canned -- it was fantastic! You can bet I will be making this dish again! I might add diced baby bella mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tscarisbrick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone I served for Thanksgiving was used to the traditional cream of mushroom...This was a huge hit with everyone!!! I did use the french fried onions in place of the crackers and fresh onions. Only because I didn't have crackers.... it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Everyone in my family liked this at Thanksgiving. I followed someone's suggestion to use Cabote cheese, but I used only half what was called for. I also used fresh green beans, using my Cuisanart's slicing blade to french them. The recipe is very rich, but delicious. This will be a tradition at our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe hands down beats your average "green bean casserole" with canned mushroom soup. I used fresh green beans, boiled them till they were barely tender, also sautéed the onion in olive oil, I also added about 1/3 of the cheese to the bean/sour cream mixture, and I topped it with the crackers and a can of fried onions. It turned out superb, everyone loved it!!! I think next time I will try it with jack or Swiss cheese, because the sharpness if the cheddar cheese kind of took over the dish, but it was still great. I made mine the day before, took it out and let it get to room temp that morning, and just added the topping before I put it in the oven to save time on thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Yum, yum, yum! Based on other reviews, I used fresh green beans and steamed them beforehand. I also sauteed the onions first. This was much better than cream of mushroom soup green bean casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I followed this recipe as written - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe stated minus 1/4 tsp. of the salt. All 3 members of my family didn't like it. They said there was way too much sour cream. I am a vegan so I didn't try any but decided to make it again using vegan sour cream and cheese. I didn't mind it but I did feel that it called for too much sour cream. If I make this again I will omit the sour cream and use almond milk to make a basic white sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
For some reason, I thought this would be similar to the "original" green bean casserole. It's not even close. First off, the sour cream overpowers the dish - that's pretty much all I could taste. Then the shredded cheese is on top and pretty much melts on the top area. And the round cracker & butter topping - ick! I will NOT be making this ever again. . Nothing to write home about. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana Beard Pier
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Excellent! I hate mushrooms, so I never like the "traditional" green bean casserole. I made this for thanksgiving and my niece and nephew were fighting over who got the last spoonful and my brother asked me to make some more to have with leftovers. I did do a couple of tweaks... I sauteed the onions in the butter a bit before adding the flour, used frozen instead of canned green beans, mixed some of the cheese in with the GB mixture instead of putting it all on top and used panko bread crumbs instead of crackers. I WILL be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States