Grandma's Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
So good! I've made this twice. Both times with fresh green beans rather than canned. The second time I cooked the beans before adding them to the casserole. They were still a little crunchy, but not too crunchy like the first time. I also mixed together french fried onions and crackers for the topping, which I was very generous with. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This recipe is AMAZING! This recipe is a huge crowd favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
ok but I prefer the flavor of Campbells cream of mush soup and the Frenchs fried onions. This did not have much flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSNEEDSCOOKINGHELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is the BEST green bean casserole dish I have ever made. Very easy to prepare. Tastes fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Everyone loved this on Thanksgiving! Consensus was that it's so much better than the old cream of onion soup recipe. I'm making it again on Christmas eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Loved this recipe! New fav for Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious! I took the suggestions of other reviewers and mixed in most of the cheese saving just enough for the topping. I also snuck in 1 tsp lemon pepper. I was looking for a casserole that does not use soup and still tastes good and I found it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarlettjulie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I used freshly sliced and steamed green beans. My family loved it. I refuse to used processed foods like French fried onions in a can. This was a wonderful and healthier (and tastier) alternative. My daughter demanded her green bean casserole her aunt usually makes (processed...see above), but was thrilled to have this tastier and healthier version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockwood, New York, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I had to make a few changes to make this gluten free, and it came out fabulous. It is so much better than the dreaded cream o' mushroom soup goo version. I sauteed the onions first, and then eight chopped mushrooms, then added them to the sauce. I used two tablespoons of potato starch in place of the all purpose flour. I followed the directions, but used crumbled gluten free potato chips in place of the cracker crumbs. This is definitely a gluten free keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is yummy yummy yummy! My husband said " this is the best green bean casserole I've ever had, and I've had a lot of green bean casserole. " I of course added a bit more cheese, but I think it would have been absolutely fine without it. I even used canned green beans and it was still good ;). I used this for a Thanksgiving side dish, but we'll incorporate it into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,832) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States